Home » Racing & Sport » News » SA Apprentice Victorious in France

SA Apprentice Victorious in France

Big win for SA apprentice in France

Big Win. Apprentice Franklin MalekingBig Win. Apprentice Franklin Maleking

South African apprentice Franklin Maleking made a major impression on a local and international television audience with a balanced ride from off the pace to win the Prix Longines Future Racing Stars run over 1800m at Chantilly Racecourse in France today.

Maleking rode the favourite Blazon for trainer Van De Poele. The grey won going away, and Maleking showed composure and a cool head when the first few got away inside the final 400m.

Maleking was chosen to represent South Africa in the second edition of the Prix Longines Future Racing Stars.

The fourth year apprentice from the South African Jockey’s Academy was accompanied by the Johannesburg-based riding master, Gary Waterston.

The Future Racing Stars event over 1 800m was worth 20 000 euros of which 10 000 was paid to the winner.

It was contested by 14 riders from eight countries in Australia, Great Britain, France, Japan, Germany, Italy, South Africa and the USA.

Runaway win! Blazon is well ahead at the wireRunaway win! Blazon is well ahead at the wire

This objective of the race is to promote future rising stars on the racecourse and for them to demonstrate their talent to a worldwide audience.

The race took place on one of the most prestigious dates on the French racing calendar, the Gr1 Prix de Diane Longines.

The day is also famous for its festival atmosphere, being synonymous with grace, sophistication and high society. It attracts about 40,000 spectators and a colourful tradition is that elegant hats should be worn.

The representative rider had to have ridden between three and thirty winners from between 50 to 180 rides and to be between 18 and 25 years old.

He described Maleking as having ‘nice hands and only starting to come into his own.

He finished school last year and arrived in Johannesburg in January with just one winner. He has shown a lot of improvement since then and now has ten winners.’


 PlaceN°Horses (sex/age) teamJockeyDistances
1st6BLAZON (M/6)Franklin Maleking
2nd10CURRO PEROTE (H/6)Canal E.2 L
3th2RISQUILLO (M/7)Joey Haynes3/4 L
5th11PRIMERA VISTA (H/7)Moloney P.TETE
6th8INSILD (H/8)Butterfield J.1 L
7th4ZIBERTO (H/5)Oppermann Mme J.CTE TETE