Home » Racing & Sport » International » Bernard Takes On Hong Kong

Bernard Takes On Hong Kong

Bernard Faydherbe will ride Golden Sleep in the 2015 Hong Kong Derby

Elusive Gold wins the 2013 Gr1 Grand Parade Cape Guineas (pic Hamish Niven)

Elusive Gold wins the 2013 Gr1 Grand Parade Cape Guineas (photo hamishNIVENPhotography)

Bernard Faydherbe has confirmed an engagement to ride former Cape Guineas winner, Elusive Gold (now named Golden Sleep) in the prestigious BMW Gr1 Hong Kong Derby on 15 March 2015.

With the exception of the war years, the Hong Kong Derby has been held every year since its inception in 1873, making it one of the most prestigious and historic races on the Hong Kong calendar.  The honour roll includes horses such as Olympic Express, Lucky Owners, Vengeance Of Rain, Viva Pataca and Ambitious Dragon and it is the race every Hong Kong owner wants to win.

The Classic is restricted to four-year-old horses and the purse for the 2015 renewal is a cool HK$18 million.

Bernard, who rode Elusive Gold to victory in the 2013 Gr1 Grand Parade Cape Guineas, says he can’t wait to ride the colt again.  “Tony (Millard) rang me up.  They’ve been battling a bit with the horse and basically want me to come up and ride him.  I’m flying up next Wednesday, I’ll work the horse on Friday and Saturday, we race on Sunday and I fly back again on Monday.  I’m very very excited.”

The Ascot Stud-bred Elusive Gold was a R425 000 purchase on the 2012 National Yearling Sale and was the first Gr1 winner for sire Sail From Seattle.  Campaigned in South Africa by Philippi-based trainer, Brett Crawford, the colt was always destined for foreign shores and went into quarantine shortly after his nail-biting victory over stablemate Captain America in the 2013 Gr1 Grand Parade Cape Guineas.

Now renamed Golden Sleep, the colt, owned by Mr Cheung Wing Hui and conditioned by former SA champion trainer Tony Millard, made his Hong Kong debut on 25 January 2015.

Several other international jockeys will be flying in for the big race, including Tye Angland, Hugh Bowman, Ryan Moore and Christophe Soumillon.

The final field of 14 was announced on 4 March 2015 and the runners are:-

Luger J Size
Beauty Only A S Cruz
Thunder Fantasy J Size
Giant Treasure R Gibson
Gun Pit C Fownes
Redkirk Warrior W Y So
Contentment J Size
Helene Happy Star J Moore
Got Fly R Gibson
Romantic Touch T P Yung
Dynamism D E Ferraris
Anticipation A S Cruz
Golden Sleep A T Millard
Obliterator R Gibson
Savvy Nature J Moore
Travel First R Gibson



Leave a Comment

‹ Previous

My Lucky Strike - looks a cracker in Race 7

Singapore Racing – Friday

Next ›

Soft Falling Rain

Have You Ever Seen The Rain?

Popular Posts