Home » Breeding » Awards » Cape Racing & Breeding Awards 2015

Cape Racing & Breeding Awards 2015

Local industry acknowledges top performers

LanzeracThe magnificent Lanzerac manor house

The best that Cape racing and breeding had to offer during the past season was celebrated at the 2015 Cape Racing And Breeding Awards on 7 August 2015. The event, held jointly by the Racing Association and Cape Breeders Club, was hosted at the magnificent Lanzerac Estate in Stellenbosch.

The winners were:-

Cape BREEDERS Awards:


2YO Champion Colt

Seventh Plain – Klawervlei Stud

2YO Champion Filly

Chestnuts N Pearls – Nutfield Stud

Legal Eagle wins JubileeLegal Eagle – 3yo Champion Colt & Champion Stayer

3YO Champion Colt

Legal Eagle – Avontuur Estate

3YO Champion Filly

Carry On Alice – Klawervlei Stud

Champion Older Male

Captain Of All – Riverton Stud

Champion Older Female

Fly By Night – Mrs PJ Devine

Champion Sprinter

Captain Of All – Riverton Stud

Champion Middle Distance Horse

Legislate-LK-siteLegislate – Champion Miler

Legislate – Cheveley Stud

Champion Stayer

Legal Eagle – Avontuur Estate

Broodmare Of The Year

Si Senorita – Arc-En-Ciel Stud

Outstanding New Stallion

Querari – Maine Chance Farms

Stallion Of The Year

Captain Al

Breeder Of The Year


Horse Of The Year

Captain Of AllCaptain of All

Captain Of All

International Horse Of The Year


Outstanding Breeder

Maine Chance Farms

Industry Service Award

John Kramer


Cape RACING awards:


Juvenile Male

Captain Chaos

Princess Royal wins E Cape NurseryPrincess Royal – Juvenile Filly Champion

Juvenile Filly

Princess Royal

3YO Male

Act Of War

3YO Filly


Older Male


Fly By NightFly By Night – Older Female Champion

Older Female

Fly By Night

Champion Sprinter (up to 1450m – open company)

Fly By Night

Champion Middle Distance Horse (1500m- 2200m)


Champion Stayer (2400m and above)


WP Grooms’ School Workrider Of The Year

Justin Andrews

Cape Apprentice Jockey Of The Year

Xavier Carstens

Greg Cheyne - knows his formGreg Cheyne – Cape Champion Jockey 2015

Cape Jockey Of The Year

Greg Cheyne

Cape Trainer Of The Year

Justin Snaith

Exceptional Achievement Award

Stan Elley

Industry Service Award

Robert Bloomberg

Horse Of The Year


Owner Of The Year

 Ingrid & Markus Jooste





Have Your Say

Comments Policy
The Sporting Post encourages allcomers to feel free to have their say in the spirit of enlightening the topic, the participants and the originator of the thread. However, if it is deemed to be either offensive, insulting, personal, false or possibly unsubstantiated, the Sporting Post shall, on it's own assessment, alter or remove comments.

3 comments on “Cape Racing & Breeding Awards 2015”

  1. Did I read CAPE champions. Western Cape?? Surely Bass ,Van Niekerk.They both won more in Western Cape than Snaith and Cheyne. Wonder if Eastern Cape add Western Cape to their stats??

    1. If we worked off the WC logs (as we used to under the WPOTA system), the awards would have gone to Mike Bass and Grant van Niekerk as they finished at the top of their respective logs for the Western Cape.

      However, the rules for how the Awards are decided were changed when the RA took over from WPOTA back in 2013. The RA decided to base the awards on the National Log It was announced fairly late that season and they decided to have the awards as per ‘normal’ for 2013 and the new rules have been in force from the 2013/14 season onwards.

      Following on from that, the Champion Jockey award was given to the leading Western Cape domiciled jockey as per the National Log in respect of winners (jockey awards are always decided on number of winners) and Greg Cheyne finished 3rd on the National Log, behind Lerena and Khumalo, hence he is our Cape champion jockey.

      In terms of the Champion Trainer award, it was given to the leading WC domiciled trainer as per the National Log in respect of stakes and Justin Snaith finished 3rd on the National Log behind Tarry and De Kock, making him the Cape champion trainer.

  2. with all due respect if this is the jockey of the year can somebody please explain how is it possible. i can understand justins award. but noways can mr gheyne be jockey of the year. there must be a mistake

Leave a Comment