Home » Racing & Sport » Equus – Finalists Announced

Equus – Finalists Announced

Many categories pick themselves - others not that straightforward

The Equus Awards voting panel met at Greyville this past weekend to decide the finalists for this season’s awards.

Eyes Wide Open (Dynasty) – impressive winner of Gr1 Premier Champion Stakes

The voting panel comprised of Andrew Harrison, Matthew Lips, Jason Dedekind, Roger Smith, Michael Clower and RA chairman Larry Wainstein as non-voting chairperson.

The panel submitted their first round of nominations after Vodacom Durban July Day and voting for the finalists took place after the Gold Cup race meeting.

The categories and finalists are:

Champion Two-year-old Colt – distance immaterial:

Eyes Wide Open, Mustaaqeem, Sand And Sea.

Champion Two-year-old Filly – distance immaterial:

Brave Mary, Lady In Black

Champion Three-year-old Colt – distance immaterial:

Al Sahem, Edict Of Nantes, Heavenly Blue, William Longsword.

Champion Three-year-old Filly – distance immaterial:

Just Sensual, Lady Of The House.

Champion Older Male – distance immaterial:

Captain America, Legal Eagle, Marinaresco, Whisky Baron.

Champion Older Filly/Mare – distance immaterial:

Bela-Bela, Carry On Alice, Nightingale, Nother Russia.

Champion Sprinter – (1000 – 1200m; age/gender immaterial):

Bull Valley, Carry On Alice, Rafeef.

Champion Miler – (1400 – 1600; age/gender immaterial):

Bela-Bela, Captain America, Legal Eagle, William Longsword.

Champion Middle Distance – (1800 – 2200; age/gender immaterial):

Legal Eagle, Marinaresco, Whisky Baron

Champion Stayer – (2400m and up; age/gender immaterial):

Al Sahem, Hermoso Mundo

Hermoso Mundo (Ideal World)- certainty for Stayer Of The Year

The awards are based on graded races and in particular Grade 1 races. As regards the stayer category, the winning horse will be at the discretion of the voting panel. This decision was taken as the only Grade 1 race in SA is the SA Derby, which would mean that this should be the obvious winner based on a single run. This would also have excluded fillies and mares.

Breeder Awards:

Stallion of the Year

Broodmare of the Year

Breeder of the Year

The Thoroughbred Breeders Association may include outstanding and/or international achievement awards.

Anthony Delpech – champion jockey

Individual Awards:

Champion Apprentice

Champion Jockey

Champion Owner (based on stakes earned)

Champion Trainer (based on stakes earned)

Industry Merit Award

Horse of the Year Award

The awards take place at the Convention Centre at Emperor’s Palace on Tuesday, 15 August.

Have Your Say

Comments Policy
The Sporting Post encourages everyone to feel free to comment in the spirit of enlightening the topic being discussed, to add opinions or correct errors. All posts are accepted on the condition that The Sporting Post can at any time alter, correct or remove comments, either partially or entirely.

All posters are required to post under their real and verified names, you can adjust your display name on your account page or to send corrections privately to the Editor. The Sporting Post will not publish comments submitted anonymously or under pseudonyms.

The views of any individuals that are published are NOT necessarily the views of The Sporting Post.

11 comments on “Equus – Finalists Announced

  1. Gavs says:

    Nice move on the part of Sporting Post to allow readers to choose which horses they believe should get the honours.
    I look forward to seeing whether the popular vote is the same as the Equus panel. ?

    I have one question to ask. Does every horse that has made it to the finals have owners who are RA members?

    1. Paulo says:

      Now that would be fun….interesting concept.

  2. Cycad says:

    Scribes on the voting panel and what is the duties of a non -voting chairman?

    1. Paulo says:

      To keep the peace, get the badge, influence and crack an invite..lol.
      On a serious note, I can imagine the debate, so a moderator is always necessary

  3. ANDREW BON says:

    A sad day…..and I will take the 5th.

    1. Brian says:

      What is a sad day? Got me lost here and I have had my coffee from Clarens

      1. James Darmody says:

        Also dont understand AB post – take the 5th . As usual want to say something but cant , rather not post then .

    2. Paulo says:

      Andrew, it will always be sad to some and happy for others. The fact remains that unless these nominations and votes are made in a transparent and “democratic” way – for the people, by the people et al…the 5th and the 9th will always be taken by some, whilst others will rejoice.

      In the end, contrary to what we, in our LITTLE racing community think – they Will mean nothing. A truly great horse will always be remembered and a truly great mare’s progeny sought after. A great jockey will always be in demand and the great achieving trainers will always get the horses. The proof, as they say, is in the pudding

  4. Wayne Fouche says:

    It seems no one can comment anywhere anymore – other than on ABC. I wrote to SP recently about a ringer (anyone who has been in racing for 5 minutes knew it was a ringer) – backed from 25/1 to favourite and then it is discovered that it’s the wrong horse but they refused to post my comment.

    1. karel says:

      It’s because you make an unsubstantiated accusation.
      Grow up.

      1. Wayne Fouche says:

        So given the circumstances you do not believe it was a ringer? Everybody I have spoken to does!

Leave a Comment

‹ Previous

Fond Farewell To A True Horseman

Next ›

Cape Breeders Awards – The Nominees

Popular Posts