Home » Breeding » Awards » Five Finalists For Racing Writers Award

Five Finalists For Racing Writers Award

Honourable mentions too!

The 2017 Drakenstein Stud Farm Racing Writer’s Award attracted 36 entries from 22 individual contributors.

Barry Irwin is tasked with selecting the winning entry for the award, which relates to the 2016/2017 season.

Still musing over who the winner will be, Irwin has selected five finalists and makes three honourable mentions.

You can read all of those here.

The Five Finalists

Michael Clower – Punter vs Bookmaker (Parade, March 2017)

Hans Ebert – That Old Whyte Magic (Racing Bitch, October 2016)

Robyn Louw – Ship Building (Sporting Post, September 2016)

David Thistleton – Insiders Control Information in SA Racing (Independent newspapers, October 2016)

David Thistleton – Michael Roberts July win 20th anniversary this year (Independent newspapers, June 2017)

Honourable Mentions

David Allan – A Dodgy Hillman 10, The Tiller Girls and Horses Making Monkeys Of Us (TurfTalk June 2017)

Ashlee Hammond – Top 10 reasons to work on a stud (own blog, July 2017)

Walter Pike – Streetwear Is A Racehorse (own blog, July 2017)

The winner of the Drakenstein Stud Farm sponsored Writer’s Award and accompanying R20 000 first prize will be announced on 15 August.

Have Your Say

Comments Policy
The Sporting Post encourages allcomers to feel free to have their say in the spirit of enlightening the topic, the participants and the originator of the thread. However, if it is deemed to be either offensive, insulting, personal, false or possibly unsubstantiated, the Sporting Post shall, on it's own assessment, alter or remove comments.

1 comment on “Five Finalists For Racing Writers Award

  1. Don says:

    love reading all of these again

Leave a Comment

‹ Previous


Some Four!

Next ›

Cape Racing Salutes The Stars