Home » Racing & Sport » July Top Guns Out In Numbers

July Top Guns Out In Numbers

The 49 first entries

Past Vodacom Durban July winning trainers have a total of 29 of the 49 first entries announced on Wednesday for the R4,25 million 2200m spectacular to be contested at Greyville on Saturday 6 July.

Snaith team will want to do it again!

There are 13 Gr1 winners in the 2019 renewal!

The past winner entry charge is led by the defending title holder (2018 top three!) and SA Champion Justin Snaith (9), followed by Mike de Kock (7), Sean Tarry (6), Geoff Woodruff (2), Glen Kotzen (2) and Joey Ramsden (2), while multiple July winner Dean Kannemeyer has registered a single entry.

Snaith, who won the race last year with Do It Again, Legislate (2014) and Dancer’s Daughter in 2008, has a powerful hand, which includes last year’s historic Sun Met winner Oh Susanna – whose racing future is said to be in some doubt.

Igugu – Horse of the Year & Pierre Jourdan – 2nd to Igugu in the July

Igugu wins fro De Kock in 2011

Mike de Kock, who won the July in 2002 with Ipi Tombe, in 2004 with Greys Inn, and then in consecutive years with Bold Silvano (2010) and Igugu (2011), has a power hand led by 3yo’s Hawwaam and the dark horse, Barahin.

A notable absentee in the De Kock arsenal is Buffalo Bill Cody, who was scratched from the Queen’s Plate and has not been seen since.

July entry Barahin and stablemate Soqrat fight out the Gr2 Golden Horseshoe 2018

KZN trainers are led by Summerveld based Frank Robinson with 4 entries, followed by Robbie Hill and Ashburton kingpin Duncan Howells with 2 apiece, while Dennis Drier, Paul Lafferty and Alyson Wright have one each.

Candice Bass-Robinson, who made history when Marinaresco won the July in 2017, is the only active trainer to win the big race in the 21st century without an entry this year.

The 49 Vodacom Durban July entries

0 Alyaasaat (AUS) Mike de Kock 105
0 Arianos Shadow Frank Robinson 93
0 Atyaab (AUS) Mike de Kock 105
0 Banner Hill Geoff Woodruff 99
0 Barahin Mike de Kock 108
0 Bunker Hunt Justin Snaith 100
0 Camphoratus R A Hill/S R Hill 105
0 Charles Brett Crawford 104
0 Dark Moon Rising Paul Lafferty 105
0 Dawn Assault St John Gray 106
0 Divine Odyssey J A Janse van Vuuren 105
0 Do It Again Justin Snaith 125
0 Doosra J A Janse van Vuuren 104
0 Doublemint Justin Snaith 104
0 Elusive Silva Justin Snaith 103
0 Eyes Wide Open Glen Kotzen 111
0 Fiorella Duncan Howells 100
0 Flichity By Farr Alyson Wright 94
0 Fresnaye Joey Ramsden 108
0 Hawwaam Mike de Kock 121
0 Head Honcho Andre Nel 122
0 Hero’s Honour Gary Alexander 107
0 Herodotus Glen Kotzen 101
0 Lady In Black Dennis Drier 117
0 Legal Eagle Sean Tarry 118
0 Made To Conquer Justin Snaith 108
0 Magnificent Seven Justin Snaith 104
0 Miyabi Gold Justin Snaith 105
0 Noble Secret Mike de Kock 105
0 Oh Susanna (AUS) Justin Snaith 118
0 Platinum Prince Justin Snaith 97
0 Protea Paradise Mike de Kock 92
0 Rainbow Bridge Eric Sands 124
0 Red Chesnut Road R A Hill/S R Hill 101
0 Return Flight Sean Tarry 106
0 Roy Had Enough (AUS) Frank Robinson 109
0 Roy’s Riviera (AUS) Frank Robinson 95
0 Run Red Andre Nel 94
0 Samurai Warrior Weiho Marwing 105
0 Secret Potion Geoff Woodruff 102
0 Shenanigans Sean Tarry 89
0 Silva’s Bullet Dean Kannemeyer 91
0 Silver God Sean Tarry 87
0 Thanksgiving Duncan Howells 97
0 The Dazzler Mike de Kock 99
0 Tilbury Fort Sean Tarry 110
0 Top Classman Frank Robinson 85
0 Twist Of Fate Joey Ramsden 115
0 Zillzaal Sean Tarry 105

First Declaration: Close 11:00 Monday, 13 May
 The July Timeline

First Supp. Entries: Close 11:00 Tuesday, 14 May

Second Declaration: Close 11:00 Monday, 3 June

Final Supp. Entries: Close 11:00 Tuesday, 18 June

Weights Published: Tuesday, 18 June

Final Declaration: Close 11:00 Monday, 24 June

Final Field and Draw: Tuesday, 25 June

Public Gallops – Thursday 27 June at 07h00

Check the Hollywood Vodacom Durban July ante-post market here

Have Your Say

Comments Policy
The Sporting Post encourages everyone to feel free to comment in the spirit of enlightening the topic being discussed, to add opinions or correct errors. All posts are accepted on the condition that The Sporting Post can at any time alter, correct or remove comments, either partially or entirely.

All posters are required to post under their real and verified names, you can adjust your display name on your account page or to send corrections privately to the Editor. The Sporting Post will not publish comments submitted anonymously or under pseudonyms.

The views of any individuals that are published are NOT necessarily the views of The Sporting Post.

1 comment on “July Top Guns Out In Numbers

  1. beatle says:

    I doubt we will see Hawwaam in Durban for winter season

Leave a Comment

‹ Previous

Thabiso Strikes With First Winner

Next ›

Eight Races At Vaal Today

Popular Posts