Home » Racing & Sport » Fairview Start – Action To Be Taken

Fairview Start – Action To Be Taken

Jockeys warned after gate swap

The National Horseracing Authority advises that an investigation was opened into two horses being loaded and jumping from the incorrect Starting Stalls in Race 1, at Fairview on 10 May 2019.

During the course of the investigation it was found that the NHA Starters had failed to perform and fulfil their functions and obligations respectively.  As this is the second offence of this nature, an internal disciplinary process will take place and the appropriate sanction will be given.

The Rules of the NHA stipulate that it is the obligation of the Rider to ensure that his horse is ridden into the correct starting stall (Rule 61.6.3.2).

The Stipendiary Board was of the opinion that the error did not affect the outcome of the race and on that basis, the Jockeys in question Mr G Cheyne and Mr K Steyn will be given the penalty of a warning as this is their first offence of this nature.

  • Press release published by NHA on 14 May 2019

Have Your Say

Comments Policy
The Sporting Post encourages allcomers to feel free to have their say in the spirit of enlightening the topic, the participants and the originator of the thread. However, if it is deemed to be either offensive, insulting, personal, false or possibly unsubstantiated, the Sporting Post shall, on it's own assessment, alter or remove comments.

The use of pseudonyms is permitted by posters to afford everybody the equal opportunity to inform or express ideas, on condition that the content of any post does not infringe upon any aspect, stated or implied, of the Sporting Post's advertised public comments policy.

It should be expressly noted that the views expressed by posters are not necessarily those of the Sporting Post.

11 comments on “Fairview Start – Action To Be Taken

  1. Ronny says:

    wow, Jockeys to get penalised again but the starters are not penalised! another Christmas bonus to the NHA reluctantly sponsored by the Jockeys

  2. Chips says:

    Jockeys get a Warning but when they question the starters they are fined or suspended… CANT WIN!!!

    Jockeys ride the races, Handlers guide the horses into gates, Starters control the start.
    Starting staff at fault, End of…

  3. Paul says:

    Ronnie, perhaps you could explain how the penalty of a warning translates to hard cash (Christmas bonus to the NHA reluctantly sponsored by the jockeys)?

    And surely internal disciplinary process does not necessarily mean no penalty?

  4. The Dark Duke says:

    It is all rather convenient to have opinions when trying to hide your dereliction of duty. Let me ask this question – what opinion would the stripes have had should the two horses have deadheated?

  5. James George says:

    Could The National Horseracing Authority give some answers-
    1) Why were jockeys Mr G Cheyne and Mr K Steyn given the penalty of a warning as this is their first offence of this nature.But in 2010 ten jockeys were given R 10 000 fines for the same offence at the Vaal. It was also the ten jockeys first offence of this nature.
    2) Why does the NHA in 2019 say The Stipendiary Board was of the opinion that the error did not affect the outcome of the race”,.Whereas in 2010 the race was called Null and void?
    In 2010 the NHA felt that cognisance had to be taken of the nature and magnitude of the offence in question, in particular the impact on the racing and betting public, the owners and trainers of the horses in question, The National Horseracing Authority and its colour holders, and the general damage to the image of the industry both locally and abroad.
    So it maybe argued that at the Vaal ten horses jumped from incorrect stalls whereas at Fairview only two horses jumped from incorrect stalls.Then it can be asked,If it is OK for two horses to start from incorrect stalls and have no affect on the outcome of the race,is it Ok for three,four to start from incorrect stalls
    Has the NHA got a cut off number and what is it?.

    1. Editor says:

      Referred for a response, James

  6. Speedyvar says:

    What would of happened if one of these horses had to win,and the connections of the second horse objected because the winner had started from wrong barrier draw?
    The NHA have opened a can of worms by stating this incident did not affect the outcome of the race.

  7. Rian says:

    The hole they digging is getting bigger, looks like Rocket Man about to plunge
    So many Questions and again no answers, might have to put away my Pen soon,
    IF this is what surrounding oneself with professionalism means then may the racing Gods help us

  8. Brian says:

    Certainly a grey area as far as the rules are concerned.

    Another where the jockeys would win in court of law and the rule would have to be amended to ensure the responsibility of correct loading would fall on the starter.

    As punters we are all in favour of highly effective policing of Jockeys and I’m sure they are happy with that.

    It sure seems a if the Jockeys have become the Christmas party contributors lately in spite of the fact that warnings were given here.

  9. The Dark Duke says:

    We have a regulator here who make up rules and/or guidelines as they go along. CONSISTENCY is the key and there is very little of that.

  10. James George says:

    Mr. Vee Moodley four and a half months ago you took over as CEO NHRA with whistles and bells and saying the right things.But now it seems you or your team do not seem to remember why you are there.There are so many important questions put to you directly.Have you answered any?Remember this—–With a spirit of co-operation, consistency and transparency as the key factors, Moodley is confident of a positive outlook for the NHA.
    Remember when still at Phumelela you were surprised the punters did not know the Pick 6 was co-mingled with overseas totes even though the first timer rule was not done away with? Well you kept that a secret,Sir..
    So are you even going to answer e-Mails sent directly to you at [email protected]?

Leave a Comment

‹ Previous

Rider Exceeded Crop Limit On 50-1 Winner

Next ›

Handicappers On East Cape Creep – And More