Home » Racing & Sport » Are Fairview Stipes And Starter Asleep?

Are Fairview Stipes And Starter Asleep?

Second incident - that we know about - this year

The favourite loading in the wrong stall got the Fairview polytrack meeting off to a shaky start on Friday.

Give Me Dynamite was carded to be drawn 6 of the 7 runners in the first race but was taken into the wrong stall (7) by jockey Greg Cheyne and nobody seemed to notice.

Keanen Steyn, who was drawn 7 of the 7, jumped from the 6 draw on Tarique.

The 37-20 favourite, Give Me Dynamite ran fourth and 6,75 lengths off the winner Zabivaka, with Tarique another 2,75 lengths behind.

The very same thing happened at the same venue on 25 February this year when Omaha Tribe jumped from draw 9 despite being drawn 8 and, Okavango Delta jumped from draw 8, despite being drawn 9, in the fifth race (ref:353).

According to the official Stipes report of that day, Mr D Moodley was Race Day Chairman, with Messrs S Parker (Chief Stipendiary Steward (KZN))  and Mr M Jones in support. The starter was Mr Mr D Kempthorne.

Nobody had noticed.

The Sporting Post drew that incident to attention of the National Horseracing Authority more than a week after the meeting and were told that the matter would be investigated. We have heard nothing further.

Now today’s error happens – who was on duty? Should the race have been declared null and void? The incident, after all, involved the favourite.

And when errors repeat themselves, it means that the checks and balances were not rectified the first time.

Teaque Gould drives Lord Windermere out to beat Streak Of Silver (Charles Ndlovu) in the feature (Pic – Pauline Herman Photography)

The afternoon’s feature, the R110 000 East Cape Poly Challenge, was won by the Drakenstein Stud bred Trippi gelding Lord Windermere, who charged home at 6-1 to win his first try at a mile by 0,75 lengths in a time of 95,69 secs.

A R1,2 million National Yearling Sale purchase, Lord Windermere has won 5 races with 13 places from 26 starts for stakes of R376 850.

Alan Greeff saddled Lord Windermere  – one of three winners for the champion yard for the day.

Teaque Gould rode a good race and rounded off a 378 – 1 double when Mega Scene won the next.

Have Your Say

Comments Policy
The Sporting Post encourages everyone to feel free to comment in the spirit of enlightening the topic being discussed, to add opinions or correct errors. All posts are accepted on the condition that The Sporting Post can at any time alter, correct or remove comments, either partially or entirely.

All posters are required to post under their real and verified names, you can adjust your display name on your account page or to send corrections privately to the Editor. The Sporting Post will not publish comments submitted anonymously or under pseudonyms.

The views of any individuals that are published are NOT necessarily the views of The Sporting Post.

28 comments on “Are Fairview Stipes And Starter Asleep?

  1. Jason says:

    Let’s see what action Mr Moodley takes now. He has an opportunity to show that he is a genuine leader. It’s probably also time that Mr Hyde looked in the mirror. This is gross negligence on the part of all the officials that worked at the course today. And the fact that the ECape champion jockey didn’t know that he was drawn on the outside of the field, just adds to the comedy of errors! It’s the small things that count. Let’s see what comes out of this. We await with interest to see the evidence of the investigation that Mr Hyde should have launched after the SP brought the last incident to his attention.

  2. Shabeer says:

    That race should b null avoid n refunded but yet again the punter gets the boot reality that u the racing is dying off no punters no game

  3. Pops says:

    Can it be said that Fairview has not received the new technology,Hawk-Eye Smart? The thingy that allows on course stipes to see every thing going on from the time the horses enter the parade ring to when they return after a race.Everything.

  4. Tex Davie says:

    I am afraid that most of the stripes are incompetent as for Arnold Hyde all he is concerned about is fining all and sundry when he feels rules have been transgressed

    1. karel says:

      Incompetent, in your opinion, of course. Could it be because many of them are former jockeys?

  5. James George says:

    In 2010 at the Vaal about ten senior jockeys jumped their horses from the incorrect stalls.They got fined and the Starter got a warning.
    The NHRA said they were of the view that this was an isolated incident which was unlikely to occur again
    And then it happened again.And then again.

  6. Ian Jayes says:

    There should be a list of offences and a list of penalties for those offences. Anywhere else where there is proper control those horses would have been disqualified.

  7. The Dark Duke says:

    The NHA just keeps on giving and giving.

  8. PL.NEL says:

    The starter takes starting position once loading commences as to be able to open gates timeously as well as to observe loading procedures from this frontal view. In this placement clear site of saddle cloth numbers are obscured,hence assitant starter has rear view which is unobscured. In my opinion the jockeys and handlers really ought to know which stall to enter, as they are numbered. The next person responsible is the assistant starter. A horse starting from the wrong stall is gross negligence, and all responsible parties should be punished accordingly.

  9. Suren says:

    What does the rule states
    Punters suffered losses
    The stewed get away if there money was not on the favorite.
    Racing is dying slowly.
    All that is involved should be fined.
    Who give a dam about the the punters.why they just cancell an refund punter

  10. Donald says:

    There was a time not so long ago when a stipe used to attend the start and take full responsibility for all that happens at that start. For some reason that practice no longer takes place ? It is time that this is reintroduced without delay , Mr. Moodley !

  11. Rod Mattheyse says:

    Whaaaaaaat no Hollywood refunds?

  12. Leon Lotz says:

    If a owners horse jumped and raced from any draw and earned stake money,that particular horse cannot be diqualified because the starter messed up,no horse can win or loose shifting one draw. Horses win from any draw , if not we should not race.Fire the starter. Why should the trainer and owner be penalised by disqualifying there horses

  13. Rian says:

    Yep Rod, glad you noticed, but did not want to say anything as ED does not like us to post negatives about hollywood ( Sic )

  14. Editor says:

    The Stipes Report for Friday’s meeting lists Mr D Moodley as Race Day Chairman and Mr D Kempthorne as Starter. They were same two officials on duty when a similar incident occurred on 25 February at the same track.

    The other Stipes on duty on Friday were Mr L Maharaj (Stipendiary Steward (CP), Mr L Douse (Stipendiary Steward (CP)) and Mr T Koyana (Trainee Stipendiary Steward)

  15. And after all that – no comments on the “form” of Mega Scene???? What a disgrace! There is absolutely no excuse for this horse not to be investigated. What excuse could the trainer give for its previous form?

    1. Editor says:

      The Stipes said:
      The winner MEGA SCENE was selected for the taking of specimens for analysis, Trainer A C Greeff advised (LM).
      Trainer A C Greeff appeared before the Board and was questioned regarding the improved performance of MEGA SCENE (T Gould). In this regard, he explained to the Board that, this filly had appreciated the drop in her rating (84 to 47), in his opinion, weaker company, the better draw and change in distance. Trainer Greeff was questioned and confirmed that there was no change to this filly’s work regime and feeding structure. Trainer Greeff’s explanation was noted however, his attention was drawn to the rules pertaining to in and out running. He was further advised that should this filly not maintain her form in future, she may be suspended.

  16. hilton witz says:

    Has any horse ever been suspended for in and out running?i cant recall one.


    Polite question :

    “were Mr L Maharaj (Stipendiary Steward (CP)” – Would this gentleman be Mr. Lennon Maharaj, the Chief Handicapper at NHA ?

  18. Art says:

    Somebody help me please Mega Scene wins with a MR of 47,but his previous MR was 84 that is a difference of 37 points.All things being equal and the fact that his feeding and training regime remained unchanged means he should have been a penalty kick against the other horses.R90 on the tote and 125/1 at betting world .Can one assume that this horse ,like others ,were hidden from the handicapper for the right time to strike.Just asking.

  19. Donald says:

    The industry is already ” under the cosh ” as big and small owners leave in droves so to suspend a horse for ” in and out running ” will just add to this problem – Ed – can you please try and get a response from the N.H.R.A. as to why a stipe no longer attends the start as per my previous comment ?

    1. Editor says:

      Hi Donald
      We have written to them about this matter.
      Are you sure a stipe does not attend at the start?

  20. Donald says:

    Thank you Ed – I can only speak for K.Z.N. where that is in fact the case !

    1. Editor says:

      Hi Donald – Mr Vee Moodley has undertaken to provide us with a press release once the inquiry has been finalised

      We put the following questions to the NHA:
      1.What action was taken on the same incident that occurred on the 25 Feb at the same venue under the same raceday chairman and starter?

      2.Why do no stipes attend the start?

      3.How in simple words did this happen?

      4.Why is there no check / role call monitoring?

      5. Like on 25 Feb, it took a member of the public to inform the NHA – what are the stipes in the boardroom actually doing during the loading process? It cant be monitoring the loading as this was a 7 horse field!

      6.What action will be taken against the jockeys and other officials?

      7.What confidence can the public have in the NHA officials involved?

  21. hilton witz says:

    They cant afford in most cases to have 4 stipes to attend every meeting in south africa and hence they never object as if one does there is only 2 of them left to hear the objection so i doubt there is a stipe at the start…They have this rule where they can co opt any official on duty that day onto their board and that is why you often see mr lipps who is a handicaper as part of the stipes on duty in natal ..It begs the question that if any official on duty can double up as a stipe then the qualification to be a stipe these days is very minimal hence the very poor quality that we have today in south africa…

  22. Roderick Mattheyse says:

    Mr Moodley was present at this meeting, as he delivered the RARA of the handicappers version of the meanings of rules and guidelines – whilst not responsible for the actual deed of not looking – as the head dictator he is ultimately responsible – 6 jacks for him in the headmasters office

  23. Wayne Fouche says:

    Mega Scene did not drop 37 points in one movement.

    The excuse is therefore nul and void. A lengthy holiday would be my prescription. Sudden form turnabout is becoming a regular occurance in this stable.


    Is it possible that Mr Lennon Maharaj is both a Stipendiary Steward and the Chief Handicapper @ the NHA.

    He was introduced to us at the Kenilworth handicapping all-comers meeting by Mr Vee Moodley as the head handicapper and the NHA’s representative at the international rating federation/association/society.

Leave a Comment

‹ Previous

Tshwaro Appie (photo: author's own)

Tshwaro Appie Makes Macau Debut

Next ›

Ennion Eyes Derby Today

Popular Posts