Home » Racing & Sport » It’s Snaith’s Smasher – Again!

It’s Snaith’s Smasher – Again!

Do It Again sweeps the boards

He has been described as the champion racehorse who has it all-looks, temperament and talent.

Newlys crowned SA Horse Of The Year, Do It Again (Pic – Chase Liebenberg)

Twice Over’s son Do It Again, who crowned a terrific season when becoming the first horse in nineteen years since El Picha to achieve back-to-back victories in the Vodacom Durban July, received the cherry on top when awarded the honour of SA Horse Of The Year and three other awards at Emperors Palace in Johannesburg on Tuesday evening.

While they relinquished the SA Champion trainer title to arch-rival Sean Tarry, the Snaith Racing Team saw horses racing under their flag winning seven individual titles on the evening.

It was also their second consecutive Horse Of The Year accolade after Oh Susanna in 2017/18. The daughter of Street Cry was crowned Champion Older Filly / Mare.

Another stable to celebrate on the evening was the Joey Soma team (pictured below, courtesy of Candiese Marnewick) after Gr1 Premiers Champion Stakes winner Got The Greenlight received the nod over fellow Gr1 winner Eden Roc in the hotly disputed Champion 2yo Colt category.

Mike de Kock’s boom Silvano colt Hawwaam unsurprisingly galloped away with the Champion 3yo Colt silverware. The exciting prospect ended his term with three consecutive Gr1 wins, but dented his popularity when a dramatic late withdrawal in the Vodacom Durban July.

Gaynor Rupert – delighted

Speaking to the Sporting Post after an outstanding evening of accolades, Mrs Gaynor Rupert said that the Outstanding Breeder trophy meant a lot to her and the team at the magnificent farm as they didn’t compete with the bigger operations in terms of pure numbers.

Their Equus Awards, which included Champion 2yo filly for Gabor, Champion older filly / mare for last term’s SA Horse Of The Year Oh Susanna, and Champion Sprinter for Kasimir, followed just under a week after the champion breeders celebrated in similar fashion at the Vineyard Hotel in Cape Town where the Cape Racing and Breeding Awards were held.

The evening proved a social success with the recent problems and pressures forgotten momentarily as industry stakeholders celebrated the champions.

SA Champion trainer Sean Tarry urged all present to forget the blame game and rather focus on the end game!

On the red carpet! Nigel and Kat Riley, Sheila Halibate, Charl Pretorius and Carol and Fred Brons were part of the capacity audience

The 2018/19 Equus winners:

Do It Again


Got The Greenlight

Celtic Sea


Oh Susanna (AUS)

Do It Again


Do It Again

Do It Again

CHAMPION STAYER (2400m & up)
Magnificent Seven

Halfway To Heaven

Drakenstein Stud (Nom: Mrs GA Rupert)


Wilgerbosdrift & Mauritzfontein

Luke Ferraris

Lyle Hewitson

Sean Tarry

Chris van Niekerk

Have Your Say

Comments Policy
The Sporting Post encourages allcomers to feel free to have their say in the spirit of enlightening the topic, the participants and the originator of the thread. However, if it is deemed to be either offensive, insulting, personal, false or possibly unsubstantiated, the Sporting Post shall, on it's own assessment, alter or remove comments.

The use of pseudonyms is permitted by posters to afford everybody the equal opportunity to inform or express ideas, on condition that the content of any post does not infringe upon any aspect, stated or implied, of the Sporting Post's advertised public comments policy.

It should be expressly noted that the views expressed by posters are not necessarily those of the Sporting Post.

9 comments on “It’s Snaith’s Smasher – Again!

  1. Prasheen Harrimohan says:

    Y didn’t Dynastys blossom receive champion stayer. Utter bull

  2. Roderick Mattheyse says:

    Magnificent Seven beat Dynasty’s blossom giveing her weight

  3. José says:

    I couldn’t agree more of what you say! It’s an absolute disgrace? Dynastys Blossom should have won, this buddy buddy nonsense is ruining everything, Joey you are making the right decision to leave this country

  4. Disgusted says:

    How is it that Oh Suzanna wins older Filly/Mare. When in actual fact Camphoratus beat Oh Suzanna in Group 1 and in turn beat Celtic Sea,who beat Oh Suzanna in the Garden Province and to top it all off, Camphoratus beat both of them in the same race at Group 1 level and Camphoratus ran 6th in the July. How could Camphoratus not win that!??!!?!?!? As for Magnificent Seven winning Stayer of the year, my goodness. You want to know the problem with SA racing??? Full of [email protected]

  5. Armchair jockey says:

    Recency bias seems to be a particular failing of many. Dynasty’s Blossom won but one race the entire season, her last..Magnificent Seven won 5 races from 7 starts and beat Dynasty’s Blossom giving her weight. What disgrace is it they speak of?

  6. Wayne Fouche says:

    There are none so blind as those who cannot see! Armchair jockey has it spot on. Only the race course judge at Flamingo could have given the award to Dynasty’s Blossom.

  7. Cecil says:

    One must remember that these horses are selected Not only on the Natal Season. Mr Ramsdens horse won a good race in The Gold Cup, but sadly this is just a Gr3 event.

    If 😂 Magnificent Seven ran in the July, he would have been in the Trifecta. Remember his prep in KZN, excellent

    Correct, he won a good few races 👍

    Well done Mr Snaith and Team

  8. Prasheen Harrimohan says:

    Well how many races over 2200 has magnificent 7 won in the season 2 and 1 was in fairview dynastys blossom ran 2nd in the vase and smashed the runner up in last year’s July in the gold cup so y should he get the award when he only won 1 race that clasifys as a stagers race. And u guys act like u know all urs stats

  9. Prasheen Harrimohan says:

    How many of m7 last 5 wins were actually stayer races. So the July and met should be stayer races and rb and dia should have been nominated. And still ul feel armchair got it spot on🤔

Leave a Comment

‹ Previous

Equus Awards since 2001 to 2019

Next ›

Luke Ferraris (photo: JC Photos)

Newly Crowned SA Champ Joins Avontuur