Home » Racing & Sport » Equus Award nominees

Equus Award nominees

Who will be crowned the stars of the season?

The Equus Awards voting panel submitted their final selections following the Greyville meeting on 27 July 2019.

The voting panel comprised of Matthew Lips, Alistair Cohen, Lennon Maharaj, David Thiselton and RA chairman Larry Wainstein as non-voting chairperson.

The panel submitted their first round of nominations after Vodacom Durban July Day and voting for the finalists took place after the Gold Cup race meeting.

The categories and finalists are:

Champion 2yo Colt

  • Eden Roc
  • Got The Greenlight

Champion 2yo Filly

  • Gabor
  • Miss Florida

Champion 3yo Colt

  • Chimichuri Run
  • Hawwaam
  • Soqrat (AUS)

Champion 3yo Filly

  • Celtic Sea
  • Clouds Unfold
  • Front And Centre
  • Return Flight
  • Silvano’s Pride

Champion Older Male

  • Do It Again
  • Kasimir
  • Pacific Trader
  • Rainbow Bridge

Champion Older Filly/Mare

  • Camphoratus
  • Oh Susanna (AUS)

Champion Sprinter  (1000-1200m)

  • Celtic Sea
  • Chimichuri Run
  • Kasimir
  • Pacific Trader

Champion Miler  (1400-1600m)

  • Celtic Sea
  • Do It Again
  • Soqrat (AUS)

Champion Middle Distance (1800-2200m)

  • Do It Again
  • Hawwaam
  • Rainbow Bridge

Champion Stayer (2400m and up)

  • Dynasty’s Blossom
  • Magnificent Seven
  • Return Flight
  • Samurai Warrior
  • Walter Smoothie

The awards are based on graded races and in particular Grade 1 races.

As regards the stayer category, the winning horse will be at the discretion of the voting panel.This decision was taken as the only Grade 1 race in SA is the SA Derby, which would mean that this should be the obvious winner based on a single run. This would also have excluded fillies and mares.

The awards will be held at a function on Tuesday 13 August.

Vote in our poll





Have Your Say

Comments Policy
The Sporting Post encourages everyone to feel free to comment in the spirit of enlightening the topic being discussed, to add opinions or correct errors. All posts are accepted on the condition that The Sporting Post can at any time alter, correct or remove comments, either partially or entirely.

All posters are required to post under their real and verified names, you can adjust your display name on your account page or to send corrections privately to the Editor. The Sporting Post will not publish pseudonyms.

The views of any individuals that are published are NOT necessarily the views of The Sporting Post.

1 comment on “Equus Award nominees

  1. Geoff Logan says:

    Great stuff guys.

Leave a Comment

‹ Previous

New Age Horse Sales

Next ›

Dubawi Champion For Stud

Popular Posts