Home » Racing & Sport » Nunes And Daby Grab Island Honours

Nunes And Daby Grab Island Honours

Extra meeting scheduled for Saturday 7 December

It was a one-horse race in both the Jockeys’ and Trainers’ competitions in the Attitude Hotels International Jockeys Weekend, with Manöel Nunes and Preetam Daby coming out on top, after having led all the way through.

Manöel Nunes was crowned champion jockey with 52 points. He won three races today, including the feature race on board Haylor.

England’s Jason Watson finished in 2nd with 38 points, while native Nooresh Juglall finished on the final podium step with 31 points.

Winless on Saturday, Derreck David got his sole win in Sunday’s meeting on Patrol Officer, while Dinesh Sooful was the sole reserve jockey to have won a race- that  with Wordbuster in the 5th race on Sunday.

Final Jockeys’ Standings

  1. Manöel Nunes (Brazil) 52 points
  2. Jason Watson (England) 38 points
  3. Nooresh Juglall (Mauritius) 31 points
  4. Jason Collett (New Zealand) 23 points
  5. Manuel Martinez (Chile) 21 points
  6. Surendar Srinath (India) 20 points
  7. Jameer Allyhosain (Mauritius) 18 points
  8. Dinesh Sooful (Mauritius) 15 points
  9. Derreck David (South Africa) 13 points
  10. John Powell (Singapore) 11 points
  11. Aurelien Lemaitre (France)/Nishal Teeha (Mauritius) 10 points
  12. Randall Simons (South Africa) 5 points
  13. Swapneel Rama (Mauritius) 2 points

Thanks to his Sunday hat-trick, Preetam Daby ran away with it in the Trainers’ standings. He won with 57 points, 24 points ahead of Gilbert Rousset, while Shirish Narang completed the podium with 32 points.

Amar Sewdyal, champion trainer in last year’s competition, finished 4th with 26 points, while Simon Jones was the only trainer to score points in just one race, as he saddled Haylor to victory in the feature race.

Final Trainers’ Standings

  1. Preetam Daby 57 points
  2. Gilbert Rousset 33 points
  3. Shirish Narang 32 points
  4. Amar Sewdyal 26 points
  5. Patrick Merven 21 points
  6. Shyam Hurchund 20 points
  7. Ramapatee Gujadhur/Chitranjan Ramdin 18 points
  8. Vincent Allet 15 points
  9. Ricky Maingard 11 points
  10. Simon Jones 9 points
  11. Jean-Michel Henry 7 points
  12. Rameshwar Gujadhur 6 points
  13. Praten Nagadoo 4 points
  14. Alain Perdrau 2 points

While this weekend would traditionally signal the end of the season, the MTC will host one further meet on Saturday 7 December.

Leave a Comment

‹ Previous

Pick 6 Winners Reap The Benefits

Next ›

Japanese Champ Out

Popular Posts