Home » Racing & Sport » All The Equus Nominees

All The Equus Nominees

No staying award - a good decision?

It is time to acknowledge the champions of the SA horseracing industry!

The virtual Equus Awards will be held on Sunday 13 September 2020 at 19h30 on Tellytrack, Channel 249.

It will be available to view FREE on www.tellytrack.com – register online.

The masters of ceremony on the evening are Neil Andrews and Nico Kritsiotis.

Nominee Erik The Red (Pic -Candiese Lenferna)


Saturday 29 August was the delayed final major feature raceday at Hollywoodbets Greyville where a number of horses stamped themselves as contenders for the various awards categories.

The judging panel, namely, Alistair Cohen, Andrew Harrison, Jack Milner, Ken Nicol and David Thiselton did not have an easy task in judging some of the categories.

The winners were adjudicated from the following nominees who were all worthy of consideration:

Equine categories:

  • Champion Two-year-old Colt – Erik the Red, Mount Pleasant, Nourbese, Tempting Fate
  • Champion Two-year-old Filly – Anything Goes, Sentbydestiny, Vernichey
  • Champion Three-year-old Colt – Golden Ducat, Got The Greenlight
  • Champion Three-year-old Filly – Missisippi Burning, Summer Pudding
  • Champion Older Male – Belgarion, Hawwaam, One World, Rainbow Bridge, Vardy
  • Champion Older Filly/Mare – Celtic Sea, Clouds Unfold, Queen Supreme, Ronnie’s Candy, Temple Grafin
  • Champion Sprinter – Celtic Sea, Rivarine, Russet Air, Van Halen, Warrior’s Rest
  • Champion Miler – Hawwaam, Rainbow Bridge, Vardy
  • Champion Middle Distance – Belgarion, Gold Ducat, Got the Greenlight, Hawwaam, One World, Rainbow Bridge, Summer Pudding

A decision was taken by the judges and members of the Equus Committee not to award a Champion Stayer for 2020 as it was felt that there was no outright deserving winner in this category.

The Horse of the Year will be selected from any of the winners in the equine categories.   The groom of the Horse of the Year will be acknowledged for his contribution to the success of the winner.

Breeder Awards:

  • Champion Stallion
  • Champion Breeder
  • Champion Broodmare

TBA will, in addition, be honouring the outstanding South African breeder

Individual Awards:

  • Champion Apprentice
  • Champion Jockey
  • Champion Trainer
  • Champion Owner

Released by:       Natalie Turner,

                                Chair of the Equus Committee

Have Your Say

Comments Policy
The Sporting Post encourages everyone to feel free to comment in the spirit of enlightening the topic being discussed, to add opinions or correct errors. All posts are accepted on the condition that The Sporting Post can at any time alter, correct or remove comments, either partially or entirely.

All posters are required to post under their real and verified names, you can adjust your display name on your account page or to send corrections privately to the Editor. The Sporting Post will not publish comments submitted anonymously or under pseudonyms.

The views of any individuals that are published are NOT necessarily the views of The Sporting Post.

7 comments on “All The Equus Nominees

  1. Cecil Pienaar says:

    Easy –

    * Tempting Fate
    * Anything Goes
    * Got the Greenlight
    * One World
    * Celtic Sea
    * Van Halen
    * Vardy
    * Summer Pudding
    * Summer Pudding ( Horse of the year )

    Stayer of the Year – MOD, please do something about this. Next year we want a winner, start by planning more distance races, and work on getting the Gold Cup back up to Gr1 status.

  2. david mollett says:

    Champion sprinter – good luck Equus panel!

  3. Dev Govender says:

    While Summer Pudding is unproven out of the 3-y-o filly ranks, I would be pleased to see her win Horse of the Year – not because I think she is the best horse in the country, but rather because she has produced the most impressive achievement of the season by winning the Triple Tiara and then going down to Durban to capture the Woolavington.

    Granted, I can’t see her beating the top male horses at WFA but none of those horses – top class though they are – produced the level of dominance in their ranks that warrants a Horse of the Year award.

    Belgarion is an interesting one – undoubtedly a top horse who has yet to put a foot wrong, but no championship WFA victory on his CV.

    We’ll never know what might have transpired if Do It Again had not been impacted by all his health issues. On his July effort, I’d have said he is still the best horse in the country, but obviously he is no longer able to consistently produce the goods.

    Final verdict: I think it will go Hawwaam.

  4. Praveen Gokul says:

    I agree 100% with Cecil Pienaar. We have to remember the earlier part of the season as well.

  5. Ed Bedford says:

    Not sure I read it the same way. I don’t think it is that easy:

    *2y Colt: Eric The Red
    *2y Filly: Anything Goes
    *3y Colt: Golden Ducat
    *3y Filly: Summer Pudding
    *Older Male: Rainbow Bridge/Hawwaam (norrowly to RB given great performances over the whole season and across distances and provinces)
    *Older Filly/Mare: Celtic Sea
    *Sprinter: Russet Air (just think the JHB run may have taken a bit out of him for the final KZN race)
    *Miler: This is difficult, Vardy & Rainbow Bridge fished in front of Hawwaam in CT and while Vardy finished in front of RB in CT, he was behind him in KZN.
    *Middle: Similar issues here, though I could maybe see this going to Golden Ducat, 2 group ones over this distance across two different provinces and 1 in & 1 out of own age group. For comparison Hawwaam only got 1 group one over the distance and Got the Greenlight (while he also got two they were both in his own age group)….and frankly GD taking on those big guns at near level weight and winning was a hell of a performance the other week.
    * HoTY: I don’t know, throw all these names into a race and tell me who you would bet on?

    The only easy category in this whole thing is champion mare – who maybe deserves to be HoTY. LOL

  6. Francois van Ghent says:

    Hi Cecil, I can’t see Van Halen as Champion Sprinter…. he only won one race in the past year, was beaten by Kasimir, twice by Mr Flood and also by Chantyman….while Ruset Air perform much better during the season (more wins) and Celtic Sea also performed much better, 6 starts for 3 wins and 3 places…. Rivarine was a flash in the pan (beaten three times by Mr Flood), Warrior’s Rest is also a worthy nominee.

  7. Cecil Pienaar says:

    Hey Francois, good call and look like only one I got wrong….
    7/8 not bad for a novice like me. LoL
    If only I can pick some winners on Race days 😂

Leave a Comment

‹ Previous

Turffontein Today – The Selections

Next ›

Durbanville – Moves To Sunday

Popular Posts