Home » Racing & Sport » Marshall Holds Edge In Fabulous Race

Marshall Holds Edge In Fabulous Race

They say that there is no substitute for experience

Vaughan Marshall and Mike de Kock are the two senior statesman of the Met class of 2021 when measured on past success in the Cape flagship.

They boast three winners apiece, with Marshall holding the rank edge as his first strike came in 1996 with La Fabulous.

That was three years before De Kock produced the impressive Horse Chestnut.

La Fabulous wins the 1996 J&B Met

Vaughan Marshall’s La Fabulous wins the 1996 J&B Met

Following winning stables is one way of trying to narrow down the scope of finding  a Met winner.

The 2021 renewal of the R1 million Gr1 Cape Town Met has just eight trainers saddling the eleven runners.

While the Marshall representative on Saturday, Silver Operator, is not particularly strongly fancied at 33-1, the Cape Guineas kingpin conditioner has trained his trio of winners over 25 years – and is also the defending champion, after One World broke Rainbow Bridge’s heart last year.

Marshall also won the Met in 2014 with Hill Fifty Four.

1999 J&B Met

De Kock’s Horse Chestnut wins the 1999 J&B Met

De Kock won the race in consecutive years with Horse Chestnut in 1999 and Badger’s Coast in 2000.

He then had to wait twelve years for Igugu, and hasn’t managed any magic in the ensuing eight years.

He saddles the dual Gr1 Paddock Stakes winner, Queen Supreme on Saturday.

The Met was a swansong in SA for Igugu, who like Queen Supreme, was also an imported filly.

Igugu J&B Met

Igugu and Delpech charge to Met glory

Igugu won the race off an extraordinary Gr1 peppered seven run winning streak after prepping in her home province in the Ipi Tombe Challenge, with her penultimate outing a victory in the 2011 Durban July.

Eric Sands, Sean Tarry and Justin Snaith have won the Met once each.

Sands is back for another dip with his 2019 winner, and 2020 runner-up, Rainbow Bridge, the officially highest rated horse in Saturday’s line-up.

The veteran also saddles the 6yo’s younger Philanthropist half-brother Golden Ducat, who rallied so impressively to win the Glorious Goodwood Premier Trophy at his last start.

2005 J&B Met win with Alastor

2005 J&B Met win with Alastor

It’s been sixteen years between Met drinks for multiple SA Champion trainer Sean Tarry, who saddled Alastor with Garth Puller up in 2005. Tarry has stamina suspect Cirillo running for his powerful yard on Saturday. The son of Pomodoro is consistency personified but tends to find something to beat him.

Snaith has a powerful three-cornered hand with Belgarion, Do It Again and African Night Sky bidding to give the Cape champion his second victory after the 3yo filly Oh Susanna won the Met in 2018.

Oh Susanna (photo: hamishNIVENPhotography)

Oh Susanna (photo: hamishNIVENPhotography)

Candice Bass-Robinson, who saddles longshot Sovereign Spirit, Adam Marcus, who takes his chances with 3yo filly Princess Calla, and Fanie Bronkhorst, who travels the long road from Randjesfontein with the gutsy mare Running Brave, are all looking for their maiden Met victory.

Fanie has held his licence for a few months, so his quest for victory with a dirt cheap purchase daughter of Brave Tin Soldier is the fairytale stuff of media dreams.

On the flipside of the coin, treble Met winning trainer Brett Crawford is without a runner this year. But that is in the nature of the cycles of power for some of the big yards.

Other 21st century Met winning trainers with no representation on Saturday include Alec Laird (2016 – Smart Call), Summerveld-based Yogas Govender (2013 – Martial Eagle) and Geoff Woodruff (2004 – Yard Arm), who recently returned to the Cape.

Click on the image to find the betting

Have Your Say

Comments Policy
The Sporting Post encourages everyone to feel free to comment in the spirit of enlightening the topic being discussed, to add opinions or correct errors. All posts are accepted on the condition that The Sporting Post can at any time alter, correct or remove comments, either partially or entirely.

All posters are required to post under their real and verified names, you can adjust your display name on your account page or to send corrections privately to the Editor. The Sporting Post will not publish comments submitted anonymously or under pseudonyms.

The views of any individuals that are published are NOT necessarily the views of The Sporting Post.

2 comments on “Marshall Holds Edge In Fabulous Race

  1. Izak Pretorius says:

    It is clear that Rainbow Bridge will win the Met this year


    Mr. Pretorius, as per right now, African Night Sky wins me a wheel barrow if he hits the line 1st.

    However, my first choice is Queen Supreme and Golden Ducat for 2nd.

    I believe Eric Sands when he said that Golden Ducat got tired at the end of the Premier Trophy, he is the real deal.

    Rainbow Bridge, banker for 4th… please forgive me.

    I think Belgarion will be lucky to scrape 5th or 6th place.

Leave a Comment

‹ Previous

Met – Robert’s Dreaming Big

Next ›

The Tuesday Racing Timetable

Popular Posts