Capacity Field For Betway Summer Cup

Barrier draws later this evening

With the stake doubled to R5 million for the 25 November renewal of the Gr1 Betway Summer Cup, the clamour for a berth in Gauteng’s flagship race was fervent, and the interest was underlined on Wednesday when a capacity field of 20 runners was published.

Geoff Woodruff’s Master Sabina is the last horse to register a double when winning the big one under Gavin Lerena in 2015 and 2016.

Johan Janse van Vuuren’s Argentinian-bred trojan bids to emulate that feat and it is Gavin Lerena, in the absence of Hong Kong-based Keagan de Melo, who will do the honours.

Happy Summer of 2022! The Puerto Manzano connections are hoping for a repeat (Pic – Candiese Lenferna)

Mike de Kock and Sean Tarry have trained five Summer Cup winners each this century, with Tarry holding the current form power, having saddled four of the last six winners.

The duo again hold the aces with seven of the 20 runners between them.

Tarry’s trio is headed by former Cape star Cousin Casey, who found his form with a nice second placed effort behind Puerto Manzano in the Allied Steelrode Onamission Charity Mile at his first start for his new yard.

Richard Fourie rides Bless My Stars, one of two fairer sex gallopers in the 2023 renewal, alongside the Azzie’s Lady Of Power. Summer Pudding was the last filly to raise the Summer Cup trophy, when she scored in 2020.

Mike de Kock has waited a possibly ‘lucky’ thirteen years since Flirtation powered home in 2010 for his last Cup winner. The veteran saddled his five 21st Summer Cup winners over nine renewals, in the halcyon days, that commenced in 2001.

He goes for his tenth winner overall this year!

Wolf Whistle

De Kock’s 2003 Summer Cup Winner, Wolf Whistle (inside)

His quartet is headed by Gr1 Daily News 2000 winner Safe Passage, who ran second behind Puerto Manzano last year.

Another interesting runner is Brett Crawford’s 2023 Hollywoodbets Durban July winner Winchester Mansion, who like Safe Passage, competes in the Drakenstein blue.

The son of Trippi stayed on well for fourth in the Allied Steelrode Onamission Charity Mile in his prep start, and will be the first horse this century to achieve the Durban July-Summer Cup double were he to win.

The only visiting trainers in the line-up are Brett Crawford, who saddles Winchester Mansion and local runner Billy Bowlegs, and Nathan Kotzen, who brings the dark horse Royal Victory up from KZN.

The barrier draws will be published once available on the website.

R5 000 000 2000m 15:35 Ref-318
1st R2875000, 2nd R1000000, 3rd R500000, 4th R250000, 5th R125000, 6th R50000, 7th R50000, 8th R50000, 9th R50000, 10th R50000
WFA: 3yrs-8kgs 4yrs-0.5kgs
No Apprentice / Female Sex Allowance
1 0 Puerto Manzano (ARG) 60 125 BA Gavin Lerena J A Janse van Vuuren
2 0 Cousin Casey 58.5 123 BA Grant van Niekerk Sean Tarry
3 0 Winchester Mansion 58 121 CA Kabelo Matsunyane Brett Crawford
4 0 Anfields Rocket 57 120 A Raymond Danielson Grant Maroun
5 0 Bless My Stars 56.5 119 A Richard Fourie Sean Tarry
6 0 Bingwa 56.5 118 BAe Serino Moodley J A Janse van Vuuren
7 0 Safe Passage 56 117 BA Luyolo Mxothwa Mike de Kock
8 0 Second Base 56 117 BA Kaidan Brewer Robyn Klaasen
9 0 Billy Bowlegs 55.5 117 A S’manga Khumalo Brett Crawford
10 0 Son Of Raj 54.5 115 BA Athandiwe Mgudlwa Weiho Marwing
11 0 Aragosta 54.5 114 A Jarryd Penny Mike de Kock
12 0 Shoemaker 54 112 A Diego De Gouveia Mike de Kock
13 0 Atticus Finch 54 111 A Calvin Habib Alec Laird
14 0 Royal Victory 54 111 A Muzi Yeni Nathan Kotzen
15 0 Zeus 54 111 A Denis Schwarz Fabian Habib
16 0 East Coast 54 110 A Juan Paul v’d Merwe Mike de Kock
17 0 Litigation 54 110 TCA Craig Zackey Sean Tarry
18 0 Meridius 54 110 A Philasande Mxoli Tony Peter
19 0 Lady Of Power 54 107 BA Chase Maujean M G Azzie/A A Azzie
20 0 Electric Gold 54 105 BA Jason Gates Tony Peter
Same Trainer
(1,6) (2,5,17) (3,9) (7,11,12,16) (18,20)

Have Your Say - *Please Use Your Name & Surname

Comments Policy
The Sporting Post encourages readers to comment in the spirit of enlightening the topic being discussed, to add opinions or correct errors. All posts are accepted on the condition that the Sporting Post can at any time alter, correct or remove comments, either partially or entirely.

All posters are required to post under their actual name and surname – no anonymous posts or use of pseudonyms will be accepted. You can adjust your display name on your account page or to send corrections privately to the EditorThe Sporting Post will not publish comments submitted anonymously or under pseudonyms.

Please note that the views that are published are not necessarily those of the Sporting Post.

Notify of
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments



Popular Posts

From Russia With Love

Cape racegoers of an older generation will remember the fine racemare Boland Pride, who counted what is now the Gr1 Cape Fillies Guineas amongst her eight victories

Read More »

Dream Summer For Royal Victory

In the run for home Royal Victory, having his first run over 2000m, built up from rear of midfield as he picked them off one by one and had Son Of Raj and Safe Passage firmly in his sights at the 200m

Read More »

Hollywoodbets Kenilworth – A Splendid History

In 1874,  the members of the South African Turf Club chose a site on the farm Kenilworth for the construction of a new racecourse – which means that next year the foundation of the oldest racetrack in South Africa will celebrate 150 years

Read More »