Durban July 2013

The Vodacom Durban July is Africa’s Greatest Horseracing event and the most anticipated sporting and social event on the SA Calendar. It is also the highpoint of Africa’s Champion Season, the richest horseracing season on the continent. Vodacom Durban July 2013 This year promises to be a cracker with a top class field anticipated and a bumper number of runners in the nominations. While the 2012 winner Pomodoro is top of the July log, the brilliant undefeated KRA Guineas winner Vercingetorix has rocketed to the top of the betting boards and is one of 11 De Kock runners nominated.


July Is A Winner!

No Stopping a Great Tradition (More)

Bring On The Bling!

Heavy Metal wins Gr1 Vodacom Durban July (More)

Pride Of Africa

The Durban July is the race that creates legends (More)

Living The Dream

Controversy and politics aside, the Gr1 Vodacom Durban July is a race with every element guaranteed to produce a thriller! (More)

July Betting Scramble

July betting bonanza anticipated (More)

Operator on July Uncertainty

Nation on a knife edge as Vodacom Durban July counts down (More)

July Field : Gold Circle Responds

Gold Circle move to quell public reaction (More)

Hawkins responds to Larry Nestadt

Graeme Hawkins responds to Larry Nestadt’s open letter (More)

Top 20 for July!

Start studying right now! The final field for the big day! (More)

Open Letter to Graeme Hawkins – re this years July runners

Larry Nestadt shares his thoughts (more). Colin Bird has his say (more)

Top 20 for July!

Start studying right now! The final field for the big day! (More)

Vodacom Durban July : The Log per 4 June

Pastor introduces innovative party rules for July Day. (More)

Mind Your P’s & Q’s Please!

Pastor introduces innovative party rules for July Day. (More)

Dressed For Success

Snaith leading through innovation. (More)

First entries

Included in the entries are last year’s favourite Jackson, defending Durban July champion Pomodoro, and SA Classic Winner Love Struck.  (More)

July Stake boost

South Africa’s premier race gets a handsome boost. (More)

History of the July


Event Information

  • Date: Saturday 6 July 2013
  • Venue: Greyville racecourse
  • Theme: Oh my Gosh, Posh! In other words sophisticated, fancy and posh dress code. Think Ascot, Longchamp, Melbourne Cup – quintessential horse racing dress code. What would a true gentleman and lady wear?


  • Tickets: Entrance costs R200 – ticket details
  • The main race is at 16:20 –  Race 7 The Grade 1 Vodacom Durban July Distance:  2200m Prize money:  R3 500 000 – program details.


Remember that we are on the ten year cycle of drama! In 1983 trainer Terrance Millard landed the first of his six victories over the period of a mere eight years when the filly Tecla Bluff won. In 1993 current champion jockey Anton Marcus had the first of his record-equalling four victories when Dancing Duel won. In 2003, current sire sensation Dynasty produced arguably the greatest performance in the history of the race. Will 2013 be another milestone year and perhaps give Mike de Kock’s his remarkable fifth July victory? Let the countdown begin!


All the Previous July Winners:

2012 Pomodoro P.Strydom S Tarry
2011 Igugu A. Delpech M de Kock
2010 Bold Silvano A. Delpech M de Kock
2009 Big City Life G. Cheyne G.Kotzen
2008 Pocket Power/Dancers Daughter B.Fayd’Herbe/K. Shea M.Bass/J. Snaith
2007 Hunting Tower A.Marcus C. Laird
2006 Eyeofthetiger G.Schlechter D.Kannemeyer
2005 Dunford A.Marcus M.Bass
2004 Greys Inn A. Delpech M de Kock
2003 Dynasty R Fradd D Kannemeyer
2002 Ipi Tombe K Shea M de Kock
2001 Trademark P Strydom M Bass
2000 El Picha A Marcus GV Woodruff
1999 El Picha R Hill GV Woodruff
1998 Classic Flag A Delpech DE Ferraris
1997 Super Quality M Roberts DE Ferraris
1996 London News P Strydom AG Laird
1995 Teal J Geroudis PB Shaw
1994 Space Walk R Fradd MH Maingard
1993 Dancing Duel A Marcus AT Millard
1992 Spanish Galliard R Sham DR Drier
1991 Flaming Rock K Niesius RC Snaith
1990 Ilustrador F Coetzee TM Millard
1989 Right Prerogative M Sutherland TM Millard
1988 Royal Chalice F Coetzee TM Millard
1987 Bush Telegraph G Puller B Abercrombie
1986 Occult B Leisher TM Millard
1985 Gondolier W Harvey MP Antelme
1984 Devon Air F Coetzee TM Millard
1983 Tecla Bluff M Sutherland TM Millard
1982 Jamaican Rumba P Wynne G Thompson
1981 Big Charles J Anderson LF Naude
1980 Beau Art F Macaskill J Nicholson
1979 Over The Air G Puller P Kannemeyer
1978 Politician B Hayden SC Laird
1977 Lightning Shot D Mustard D Rich
1976 Jamaican Music B Abercrombie R Rixon
1975 Principal Boy R Thompson J Breval
1974 Riboville M Schoeman G Azzie
1973 Yataghan B Hayden SC Laird
1972 In Full Flight R Rhodes D Payne
1971 Mazarin B Hayden SC Laird
1970 Court Day C Maree R Knight
1969 Naval Escort A Reid F Rickaby
1968 Chimboraa D Payne B Cherry
1967 Sea Cottage/Jollify R Sivewright/J Gorton SC Laird/F Rickaby
1966 Java Head H Cawcutt SC Laird
1965 King Willow J Bailey J Breval
1964 Numeral R Rhodes G Azzie
1963 Colorado King R Sivewright SC Laird
1962 Diza A Roberts J Gorton
1961 Kerason G Walker S Laird
1960 Left Wing P Cayeux S Garrett
1959 Tiger Fish B Little T Furness
1958 Excise H Cawcutt W Cawcutt
1957 Migraine H Passmore F Chappell
1956 Spey Bridge C Buckham H Amos
1955 Preto’s Crown H Wright G Azzie
1954 C’est Si Bon J Byrnes D Labistour
1953 Flash On J Westwater W Hucknell
1952 Mowgli B Lewis G Ellis
1951 Gay Jane V McMurtry D Labistour
1950 Milesia Pride B Lewis J Morrison
1949 Milesia Pride H Wright J Morrison
1948 Monasterevan C Buckham E Shaw
1947 Brookhill H Wright T Potgeiter
1946 St Pauls G Foster D Talbert
1945 St Seiriol J Butler C Longhurst
1944 Monteith H Berry C Clutterbuck
1943 Piccadilly Jim H Feldman C Wade
1942 Silver Phantom H Wright E Shaw
1941 Sandri ll S Amos S Garrett
1940 Kipling A Gorton A Cruickshank
1939 Silver Spear H Feldman L Howe
1938 Extinguisher ll C Barends W Krog
1937 Ballyjamesduff G Masterson J Azzie
1936 Pietersfield ll L Fernandes E Shaw
1935 Eccentric G Askew A Rowe
1934 Sun Tor A Rugg J Angles
1933 Legacy E Lariviere P Henwood
1932 Findhorn S Johnson E Ryan
1931 Agrippa R de Valle W Pickering
1930 Full Dress H Amos S Garrett
1929 Gifted G Lariviere W Jackson
1928 Glen Albyn A Herschell G Weale
1927 Hussein G Gorton C Wade
1926 Moosme E Jacobie W Knapp
1925 Bird of Prey I Strydom W Randall
1924 Oriel J Lieveaux E Ryan
1923 Eunomea J Otto J Russell
1922 Collet F McGrath J Gard
1921 Longstop L Fernades G Weale
1920 Pamphlet S Garrett J Russell
1919 Goldwing S Garrett J Russell
1918 Pamphlet C Bowles J Russell
1917 Fanous W Crew P Liddle
1916 Margin W Clements A Townsend
1915 Winnipeg R Forsyth H de Mestre
1914 Rhanleigh R Dine W Randall
1913 Caged Bird W Crew F Murray
1912 Lombard I Strydom F Murray
1911 Nobleman A Laird F Murray
1910 Sir Caulin E Hardy F Murray
1909 King’s Favourite C Clark H de Mestre
1908 Corriecrian W Pickering F Wase
1907 Corriecrian C Yarnlee F Wade
1906 Bonnie Dundee W Pickering W Pickering
1905 Chere Amie J McLauchlan R Wooton
1904 Nymagee W Clements W Meredith
1903 Peerless J White J White
1902 Chaos G Bowker W Henwood
1901 Apollo C MacDonald H Croon
1900 Verdant Green C MacDonald H Croon
1899 Talma J Boardman H Taylor
1898 Campanajo G Tonge R Scott
1897 Campanajo R Scott E Murray



Popular Posts