The eLAN GOLD CUP Cun Magic Marathon

The Long Haul

The Gold Cup was first run in 1926 over 3200m for a stake of 2000 pounds. It is a race that captures the public imagination and defines our champion stayer.



The **Pouble**

Hermoso Mundo bids for the double on Saturday. Only four horses have won the Gold Cup twice. The first to win on two occasions was Humidor - in 1933 and 1935. The last horse to win in consecutive years was Highland Night - in 2002 and 2003.

THE STATUS

Our general apathy to breeding quality stayers is reflected in the downgrade of our premier staying race. In 2015 Wild One won the Gr1 Gold Cup; in 2016 Enaad won the Gr2 Gold Cup – in 2017 Hermoso Mundo won the Gr3 Gold Cup.

The Photo

The only recorded dead-heat after 3200m of hard slog was Don The Stripe and Pacer, who shared the spoils in 1977.

THE ROUGHIES

Famous for producing upsets, and not a race which has been kind to favourites, the Gold Cup has been won by longshots Stateway (33-1), Rack And Ruin (25-1), Fauvist (33-1), and Milleverof (25-1), amongst others.

THE SIRES

Boys From The Bay

It is great to see Jacques Strydom taking his chances from the Eastern

Greeff's Cereus in 2001 – and prior to that, Stateway in 1994.

Cape with Desert Wisdom and Frikkie. The last PE horse to win was Alan

Foveros sired Aquanaut (1987) and Festive Forever (1996), while he is also damsire of 2007 winner, Thundering Star. Dancing Champ sired two Gold Cup winners in Castle Walk (1988) and Space Walk (1993) - and he is the maternal grandsire of the 2004/2005 winners, Major Bluff and Reveille Boy. Dynasty and Ideal World have four runners each this year – and have sired a winner apiece, with Ancestral Fore (2010) and Hermoso Mundo (2017) being their respective flagbearers.

The Class

It's a bit of a graveyard for top horses. The likes of Badger's Coast, Surfing Home, River Jetez, Gondolier, Young Rake, Big Charles, Grand National, Floatyourboat and Furious are just some of the Gr1 winners and champions to have tasted defeat, often to inferior, and lightly weighted horses!



There are 3 members of the fairer sex in the 2018 renewal - Witchcraft, Royal Utopia and reserve runner Epona will look to follow in the footsteps of the last lady to win – Dean Kannemeyer's Colonial Girl back in 2000. Other fillies and mares to win in recent times include Devon Air (1984), Festive Forever (1996) and Bella Bianca (1998).

THE **Trainers**

Dean Kannemeyer is the winningmost Gold Cup trainer in the class of 2018. He won it with In Writing (2012) and Colonial Girl (2000). The only other two conditioners with a credit are Weiho Marwing, who saddled Hermoso Mundo to win last year, and Joey Ramsden who saddled Major Bluff (2004).

The Ages

Granddad and Grandson duo Ivan and Darryl Moore's Ballymaine is the only 3yo in Saturday's field. The last of his age to win was Mike de Kock's Ancestral Fore in 2010. 5 plus is the average age over the past 18 years.

The Jockeys

Only 4 jockeys in Saturday's line up have won the race previously – and then only one apiece: S'manga Khumalo partnered Enaad (2016), Richard Fourie won it on Mokara (2009), Piere Strydom on Reveille Boy (2005) and Anton Marcus on Icona (1991).

