2021 Equus Nominees

Save the date- 17 August 2021

The time is drawing closer for the announcement of champions in the horseracing industry at the virtual Equus Awards taking place on Tuesday 17 August 2021 at 20h00 on Tellytrack, Channel 249.

It will also be available to view on www.equusawards.co.za

Our hosts on the evening are Neil Andrews and Jessica Motaung.

Saturday 31 July was the final major feature raceday at Hollywoodbets Greyville where a number of horses stamped themselves as contenders for the various awards categories.

The judging panel of Graeme Hawkins, Alistair Cohen, Andrew Harrison, Jack Milner and Stan Elley did not have an easy task in judging some of the categories.

The winners will be adjudicated from the following nominees who were all worthy of consideration:

Equine categories:

Champion Two-year-old Colt:

  • Ambiorix
  • Cosmic Highway
  • Good Traveller
  • Waterberry Lane

Champion Two-year-old Filly:

  • Desert Miracle
  • Rain In Holland
  • Sheela
  • Under Your Spell

Champion Three-year-old Male:

  • Jet Dark
  • Kommetdieding
  • Linebacker
  • Malmoos

Champion Three-year-old Filly:

  • Captain’s Ransom
  • War Of Athena
  • Zarina

Champion Older Male:

  • Got The Greenlight
  • Rainbow Bridge
  • Rio Querari

Champion Older Filly/Mare:

  • Queen Supreme
  • Run Fox Run
  • Singforafa
  • Summer Pudding

Champion Sprinter:

  • Battle Force
  • Kasimir
  • Rio Querari
  • Run Fox Run

Champion Miler:

  • Got The Greenlight
  • Jet Dark
  • Rainbow Bridge

Champion Middle Distance:

  • Got The Greenlight
  • Jet Dark
  • Kommetdieding
  • Linebacker
  • Rainbow Bridge
  • War Of Athena

Champion Stayer:

  • Atyaab
  • Malmoos
  • Nebraas
  • Silver Host

The Horse of the Year will be selected from any of the winners in the equine categories.

The groom of the Horse of the Year will be acknowledged for his contribution to the success of the winner.

Breeder Awards:

  • Champion Stallion
  • Champion Breeder
  • Champion Broodmare

The TBA will, in addition, be honouring the outstanding South African breeder & Outstanding International Achievement.

Media Awards:

  • Written material (print/electronic)
  • Broadcast (television/internet)
  • Photographic

Individual Awards:

  • Champion Apprentice
  • Champion Jockey
  • Champion Trainer
  • Champion Owner

Have Your Say - *Please Use Your Name & Surname

Comments Policy
The Sporting Post encourages readers to comment in the spirit of enlightening the topic being discussed, to add opinions or correct errors. All posts are accepted on the condition that the Sporting Post can at any time alter, correct or remove comments, either partially or entirely.

All posters are required to post under their actual name and surname – no anonymous posts or use of pseudonyms will be accepted. You can adjust your display name on your account page or to send corrections privately to the EditorThe Sporting Post will not publish comments submitted anonymously or under pseudonyms.

Please note that the views that are published are not necessarily those of the Sporting Post.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments



Popular Posts