44th Annual Eclipse Awards

Finalists Announced

Eclipse Award

Eclipse Award

Finalists for the 44th annual Eclipse Awards were announced on 7 January 2015 by the National Thoroughbred Racing Association, Daily Racing Form, and the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters.

Eclipse Awards voting was conducted by the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters, NTRA, and Daily Racing Form. The Eclipse Awards ceremony is produced by the NTRA.

Of the 280 eligible voters, 265 sent in their ballots – nearly 95%.

The three finalists in each category, are listed alphabetically:

Horse of the Year: Bayern, California Chrome, Main Sequence

2-year-old Male: American Pharoah, Hootenanny, Texas Red

2-year-old Filly: Condo Commando, Lady Eli, Take Charge Brandi

3-year-old Male: Bayern, California Chrome, Shared Belief

3-year-old Filly: Stopchargingmaria, Sweet Reason, Untapable

Older Male: Main Sequence, Palace Malice, Wise Dan

Older Female: Close Hatches, Dayatthespa, Don’t Tell Sophia

Turf Male: Karakontie, Main Sequence, Wise Dan

Turf Female: Crown Queen, Dayatthespa, Stephanie’s Kitten

Sprint Male: Goldencents , Private Zone, Work All Week

Sprint Female: Artemis Agrotera, Judy the Beauty, Sweet Reason

Steeplechase: Demonstrative, Divine Fortune, Makari

Breeder: Adena Springs, Ken and Sarah Ramsey, Winchell Thoroughbreds

Owner: Kaleem Shah, Midwest Thoroughbreds, Ken and Sarah Ramsey

Trainer: Bob Baffert, Chad Brown, Todd Pletcher

Jockey: Javier Castellano, Joel Rosario, John Velazquez

Apprentice Jockey: Angel Cruz, Taylor Rice, Drayden Van Dyke

The Eclipse Awards are presented by the Daily Racing Form, the Breeders’ Cup, and The Stronach Group.  The awards will be presented on 17 January 2015 at Gulfstream Park Racing and Casino in Hallandale Beach, Florida. The event begins at 6 p.m. Jeannine Edwards, sports broadcaster for ESPN and ABC, will host for the fourth time.

(source:  Bloodhorse)

Have Your Say - *Please Use Your Name & Surname

Comments Policy
The Sporting Post encourages readers to comment in the spirit of enlightening the topic being discussed, to add opinions or correct errors. All posts are accepted on the condition that the Sporting Post can at any time alter, correct or remove comments, either partially or entirely.

All posters are required to post under their actual name and surname – no anonymous posts or use of pseudonyms will be accepted. You can adjust your display name on your account page or to send corrections privately to the EditorThe Sporting Post will not publish comments submitted anonymously or under pseudonyms.

Please note that the views that are published are not necessarily those of the Sporting Post.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments



Popular Posts

Kabelo’s Ride Of The Day!

Just a month after celebrating their maiden Gr1 success together, trainer Robyn Klaasen and owner Stincky Pooe raised a toast to jockey Kabelo Matsunyane who produced the ride of his life to keep the favourite Purple Pitcher rolling down the long Turffontein straight to score a heart-stopping victory in the TAB Gr1 SA Derby

Read More »

Seventh Heaven!

A decision to sidestep a possible SA Triple Tiara crown and rather take on mixed age opposition in the TAB Gr1 Empress Club Stakes at Turffontein, paid dividends for Mike de Kock and the connections when Gimme A Nother kept her perfect record intact and made it 7 from 7

Read More »