De Melo – Double Century And Counting

66 winners ahead of nearest rival

Winning Form-sponsored national log-leader Keagan de Melo clocked his double century of season winners at Hollywoodbets Scottsville on Wednesday, and rode a further double to take himself to 202 winners,  with more than four months of the term to run.

Keagan de Melo steers Johnny’s Hope to victory for winner 200 (Pic – Candiese Lenferna)

The in-form De Melo booted Johnny’s Hope home in the fourth of the afternoon for Peter Muscutt, and went on to score on Beechamwood Boy (Wendy Whitehead) and Maria Corolina (Alyson Wright).

The three winners on the seven race midweek card were all favourites.

De Melo is a red hot favourite to lift his first national title this term, and rides all over South Africa.

Keagan de Melo proudly shows off his 200 up Winning Form cap (Pic – Candiese Lenferna)

He is 66  winners ahead of nearest challenger Richard Fourie and is officially our hardest working rider with an extraordinary 961 starters for a 21% win strike and 40% place strike rate.

His total stakes earned amount to R20 million plus.

Watch the raceday recap:

Anthony Delpech broke Piere Strydom’s record in the 1998/1999 season and set a new SA benchmark of 334 winners. The Delpech season record still stands today.

Now retired and the Hollywood Syndicate Racing Manager, the multiple national champion Delpech was 30 when he won the title – Keagan turns 30 on 24 September.

Have you seen the SPRINT?

Have Your Say - *Please Use Your Name & Surname

Comments Policy
The Sporting Post encourages readers to comment in the spirit of enlightening the topic being discussed, to add opinions or correct errors. All posts are accepted on the condition that the Sporting Post can at any time alter, correct or remove comments, either partially or entirely.

All posters are required to post under their actual name and surname – no anonymous posts or use of pseudonyms will be accepted. You can adjust your display name on your account page or to send corrections privately to the EditorThe Sporting Post will not publish comments submitted anonymously or under pseudonyms.

Please note that the views that are published are not necessarily those of the Sporting Post.

Notify of
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments



Popular Posts