Dubai World Cup: Fields shaping up

Runners and Saddle Cloths announced

The Dubai Racing Club have announced the official race fields and saddle cloth allocations for World Cup night.  

African Story bids to make it two in a row in the Dubai World Cup, but will have his work cut out for him with 8 classy rivals including Epiphaneia and American challenger, California Chrome.

There will be plenty for South African fans to cheer about as Tony Millard saddles Super Jockey in the Golden Shaheen and Mike de Kock sends out a total of 7 runners on the night, including Pylon in the Godolphin Mile;  Al Moonqith, Star Empire and Mushreq in the Dubai Gold Cup;  Mubtaahij in the UAE Derby;  Via Africa in the Al Quoz Sprint and Umgiyo in the Dubai Turf.

Runners and their trainers are listed below:-

$1,000,000 Gr2 Godolphin Mile – 1600m (dirt)

No Name Trainer
1. Graphic (Ireland) William Haggas
2. Sloane Avenue (USA) Jeremy Noseda
3. Bradester (USA) Eddie Kenneally
4. Tamarkuz (USA) Musabah Al Muhairi
5. Pylon (South Africa) Mike de Kock
6. Surfer (USA) Satish Seemar
7. Frankyfourfingers (France) Salim bin Ghadayer
8. Dark Emerald (Ireland) Brendan Powell
9. Gold City (Ireland) Satish Seemar
10. Prayer For Relief (USA) Dale Romans
11. Layl (USA) Doug Watson
12. Forjatt (Ireland) Dhruba Selvaratnam
13. Nolohay (Ireland) Musabah Al Muhairi
14. Footbridge (USA) Charlie Appleby
15. Free Wheeling (Australia) Saeed bin Suroor


$1,000,000 Gr2 Dubai Gold Cup – 3200m (turf)

No Name Trainer
1. Brown Panther (Great Britain) Tom Dascombe
2. Bathyrhon (Germany) Pia Brandt
3. Dubday (Great Britain) Jassim Al Gazali
4. Ahzeemah (Ireland) Saeed bin Suroor
5. Meandre (France) Doug Watson
6. Al Moonqith (USA) Mike de Kock
7. Cooptado (Argentina) Doug Watson
8. Rio Tigre (Ireland) Salim bin Ghadayer
9. Star Empire (South Africa) Mike de Kock
10. Brass Ring (Great Britain) Ismail Mohammed
11. Havana Beat (Ireland) Andrew Balding
12. Mushreq (Australia) Mike de Kock
13. Marzocco (USA) John Gosden
14. Al Saham (Great Britain) Saeed bin Suroor
15. Dormello (Ireland) Dhruba Selvaratnam
16. Vaasa (Ireland) Ahmad bin Harmash


$2,000,000 Gr2 UAE Derby – 1900m (dirt)

No Name Trainer
1. Dear Domus (Japan) Yutaka Takahasi
2. Tap That (Japan) Yasutoshi Ikee
3. Golden Barows (USA) Noriyuki Hori
4. Faithful Creek (Ireland) Brian Meehan
5. My Johnny Be Good (USA) Eoin Harty
6. Sir Fever (Uruguay) Charlie Appleby
7. Mubtaahij (Ireland) Mike de Kock
8. Maftool (USA) Saeed bin Suroor
9. Al Najem Al Faiz (Saudi Arabia) Badr Reziac
10. Motaa (Saudi Arabia) Badr Reziac


$1,000,000 Gr1 Al Quoz Sprint – 1000m (turf)

No Name Trainer
1. Sole Power (Great Britain) Edward Lynam
2. Amber Sky (Australia) Ricky Yiu
3. Peniaphobia (Ireland) Tony Cruz
4. Bundle Of Joy (Australia) David Hall
5. Distinctiv Passion (USA) Jeff Bonde
6. Stepper Point (Great Britain) William Muir
7. Via Africa (South Africa) Mike de Kock
8. Farmah (USA) Francois Rohaut
9. Sir Maximilian (Ireland) Ian Williams
10. Ahtoug (Great Britain) Charlie Appleby
11. Caspar Netscher (Great Britain) David Simcock
12. Caspian Prince (Ireland) Tony Carrolll
13. Lancelot De Lac (Italy) Dean Ivory
14. Hototo (Great Britain) Fawzi Nass
15. Green Mask (USA) Wesley Ward
16. Mirza (Great Britain) Rae Guest


$2,000,000 Gr1 Dubai Golden Shaheen – 1200m (dirt)

No Name Trainer
1. Lucky Nine (Ireland) Caspar Fownes
2. Rich Tapestry (Ireland) Michael Chang
3. Big Macher (USA) Richard Baltas
4. Secret Circle (USA) Bob Baffert
5. Salutos Amigos (USA) David Jacobson
6. Muarrab (Great Britain) Musabah Al Muhairi
7. Shaishee (USA) Musabah Al Muhairi
8. Krypton Factor (Great Britain) Fawzi Nass
9. Super Jockey (New Zealand) Tony Millard
10. United Colour (USA) Dhruba Selvaratnam
11. Speed Hawk (USA) Robert Cowell
12. Cool Cowboy (USA) Doug Watson
13. El Padrino (New Zealand) Alwin Tan


$6,000,000 Gr1 Dubai Turf – 1800m (turf)

No Name Trainer
1. Euro Charline (Great Britain) Marco Botti
2. Mshawish (USA) Todd Pletcher
3. Solow (Great Britain) Freddy Head
4. Cladocera (Great Britain) Alain de Royer Dupre
5. The Grey Gatsby (Ireland) Kevin Ryan
6. Hunter’s Light (Ireland) Saeed bin Suroor
7. Trade Storm (Great Britain) David Simcock
8. Farraaj (Ireland) Dhruba Selvaratnam
9. Earnshaw (USA) Salim bin Ghadayer
10. Umgiyo (Australia) Mike de Kock
11. Limario (Great Britain) Doug Watson


$6,000,000 Gr1 Dubai Sheema Classic – 2410m (turf)

No Name Trainer
1. Main Sequence (USA) Graham Motion
2. Designs On Rome (Ireland) John Moore
3. Flintshire (Great Britain) Andre Fabre
4. Harp Star (Japan) Hiroyoshi Matsuda
5. Dolniya (France) Alain de Royer Dupre
6. One And Only (Japan) Kojiro Hashiguchi
7. Just The Judge (Ireland) Charles Hills
8. Sky Hunter (Great Britain) Saeed bin Suroor
9. Sheikhzayedroad (Great Britain) David Simcock
10. True Story (Great Britain) Saeed bin Suroor


$10,000,000 Gr1 Dubai World Cup – 2000m (dirt)

No Name Trainer
1. Epiphaneia (Japan) Katsuhiko Sumii
2. California Chrome (USA) Art Sherman
3. Hokko Tarumae (Japan) Katsuichi Nishiura
4. Ron The Greek (USA) Nicholas Bachalard
5. Lea (USA) William Mott
6. African Story (Great Britain) Saeed bin Suroor
7. Prince Bishop (Ireland) Saeed bin Suroor
8. Side Glance (Great Britain) Andrew Balding
9. Candy Boy (USA) Doug Watson



Have Your Say - *Please Use Your Name & Surname

Comments Policy
The Sporting Post encourages readers to comment in the spirit of enlightening the topic being discussed, to add opinions or correct errors. All posts are accepted on the condition that the Sporting Post can at any time alter, correct or remove comments, either partially or entirely.

All posters are required to post under their actual name and surname – no anonymous posts or use of pseudonyms will be accepted. You can adjust your display name on your account page or to send corrections privately to the EditorThe Sporting Post will not publish comments submitted anonymously or under pseudonyms.

Please note that the views that are published are not necessarily those of the Sporting Post.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments



Popular Posts

Kabelo’s Ride Of The Day!

Just a month after celebrating their maiden Gr1 success together, trainer Robyn Klaasen and owner Stincky Pooe raised a toast to jockey Kabelo Matsunyane who produced the ride of his life to keep the favourite Purple Pitcher rolling down the long Turffontein straight to score a heart-stopping victory in the TAB Gr1 SA Derby

Read More »

Seventh Heaven!

A decision to sidestep a possible SA Triple Tiara crown and rather take on mixed age opposition in the TAB Gr1 Empress Club Stakes at Turffontein, paid dividends for Mike de Kock and the connections when Gimme A Nother kept her perfect record intact and made it 7 from 7

Read More »