FIFA World Cup Russia 2018 Qualifiers

Burkina Faso vs South Africa | Saturday 8 October | Stade Du 4 Aout | 20:00


South Africa’s road to Russia begins with a stern test away to Burkina Faso, who are just six places behind Bafana Bafana in the FIFA rankings. Shakes Mashaba’s side have been pitted in one of the hardest groups in the qualifying stages, and will also come up against Senegal and Cape Verde. Paulo Duarte’s men will be wary of the threat that Bafana pose, with South Africa undefeated in 11 games including eight wins. The two sides will be going hammer and tongs for the first points on offer in Group D, but just who will have that extra cutting edge up front to come out on top?

To Win
Burkina Faso 33/20
Draw 47/20
South Africa 31/20

Burkina Faso

Burkina Faso, who are seen by many as underdogs in the group, will have their first chance to prove the world wrong when they host South Africa at the Stade Du 4 Aout on Saturday.

The Stallions are placed 68th in the FIFA rankings (third in their group), but that won’t slow them down from galloping on to their first ever FIFA World Cup. Burkina Faso will need a solid team performance, but one individual stands out from the lot.

Jonathan Pitroipa is undoubtedly the Stallions’ best player. His blistering speed on the wing, makes it Click-to-bet-now-300x40frightening for any opposing defenders. Pitroipa is a player who can turn nothing into something with just one burst of pace.

His link-up play with Bertrand Traore will be vital for Burkina Faso. Bertrand, younger sibling of Alain Traore, is likely to spearhead the attack alongside his brother. The trio will be looking to cause all sorts of headaches to Mashaba’s team and get their side’s first points of the qualifying stages.

Goalkeepers: Daouda Diakite (AS Vita Club‚ DR Congo)‚ Hervé Koffi (ASEC Abidjan‚ Cote d’Ivoire)‚ Aboubacar Sawadogo (RC Kadiogo).

Defenders: Youssoufou Dayo (RSB Berkane‚ Morocco)‚ Bakary Koné (Malaga‚ Spain)‚ Patrick Malo (Smouha‚ Egypt)‚ Issouf Paro (Santos‚ South Africa)‚ Alassane Sango (SC Cholet‚ France)‚ Robert Sankara (Bloemfontein Celtic)‚ Steeve Yago (Toulouse‚ France).

Midfielders: Cyrille Bayala (Sheriff Tiraspol‚ Moldova)‚ Adama Guira (SonderyskE‚ Denmark)‚ Abdoul Aziz Kaboré (Valenciennes‚ France)‚ Charles Kaboré (FC Krasnodar‚ Russia)‚ Prejuce Nakoulma (Kayserispor‚ Turkey)‚ Abdou Razack Traoré (Karabukspor‚ Turkey)‚ Alain Traoré (Kayserispor‚ Turkey)‚ Eric Traoré (Aswan‚ Egypt)‚ Jonathan Zongo (Almeria‚ Spain).

Strikers: Aristide Bance (Riga‚ Latvia)‚ Banou Diawara (Smouha‚ Egypt)‚ Moustapha Kaboré (Sedan‚ France)‚ Bertrand Traoré (Ajax Amsterdam‚ Netherlands)‚ Jonathan Pitroipa (Al Nasr‚ United Arab Emirates).

South Africa

Despite receiving a massive load of criticism for not qualifying for the 2017 AFCON in Gabon, Shakes Mashaba has turned South Africa’s form around, going on a run of 11 games without defeat, winning eight times.

For Bafana Bafana, the only major problem in recent times has been in the striking department. However, after Eleazar Rodgers’ performance in the MTN8 final, Shakes will be glad to see his front force going in the right direction.

Thamsanqa Gabuza may have been overshadowed by the performance of Tendai Ndoro at Orlando Pirates, but for the national team, few people have risen to the occasion like Gabuza. Personally, I would love to see Rodgers and Gabuza in a two-up-front formation.

Andile Jali is ruled out with injury, meaning Hlompo Kekana and Dean Furman could anchor the Bafana midfield, while Keagan Dolly and Mpho Makola offer an extra goal threat on either flank, with May Mahlangu, Aubrey Modiba, Thulani Serero and Ayanda Patosi all looking for a starting berth themselves.

South Africa have let us down in the past, but what better time to bounce back and take one step closer to the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia with a win over the Stallions?

Goalkeepers: Jackson Mabokgwane, Brighton Mhlongo (Both Orlando Pirates), Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs)

Defenders: Ramahlwe Mphahlele (Kaizer Chiefs), Isaac Nhlapo (Platinum Stars), Thulani Hlatshwayo (Bidvest Wits), Abbubakar Mobara (Orlando Pirates), Diamond Thopola (Chippa United), Tebogo Langerman (Mamelodi Sundowns), Eric Mathoho (Kaizer Chiefs), Thabo Matlaba (Orlando Pirates).

Midfielders: Dean Furman (SuperSport United), May Mahlangu (Dinamo Bucuresti, Romania), Thulani Serero (Ajax Amsterdam, Netherlands), Oupa Manyisa (Orlando Pirates), Ayanda Patosi (Lokeren FC, Belgium), Keagan Dolly (Mamelodi Sundowns), Aubrey Modiba (SuperSport United), Mpho Makola (Orlando Pirates), Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns).

Strikers: Eleazar Rodgers (Bidvest Wits), Thamsanqa Gabuza (Orlando Pirates), Thobani Mncwango (Polokwane City), Sibusiso Vilakazi (Mamelodi Sundowns), Tokelo Rantie (Genclerbirligi, Turkey).

Prediction: South Africa (31/20)
In FIFA rankings, South Africa are better. On paper, we are also better. On the day, Bafana will prove to be the better side. Shakes Mashaba’s team are priced up at 31/20, and are well worth a punt to get all three points.

Jesse Nagel

Have Your Say - *Please Use Your Name & Surname

Comments Policy
The Sporting Post encourages readers to comment in the spirit of enlightening the topic being discussed, to add opinions or correct errors. All posts are accepted on the condition that the Sporting Post can at any time alter, correct or remove comments, either partially or entirely.

All posters are required to post under their actual name and surname – no anonymous posts or use of pseudonyms will be accepted. You can adjust your display name on your account page or to send corrections privately to the EditorThe Sporting Post will not publish comments submitted anonymously or under pseudonyms.

Please note that the views that are published are not necessarily those of the Sporting Post.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments



Popular Posts

Birth Of A Stud – And A Flying Start!

‘We don’t view our investment in the 140 ha new farm as a vanity project. It’s a serious attempt to run a successful enterprise on business principles, focused on the aim of producing top end Graded Stakes winners.’

Read More »