Frankie Goes To Mauritius

International Jockeys' Weekend - Champ de Mars 3&4 December

On The Beach! Frankie Dettori will be riding in Mauritius.

The very best horseracing entertainment holiday of the year. That is the only way of describing the International Jockeys’ Weekend which will take place at the Champ de Mars, Mauritius, on Saturday 3 and Sunday 4 December. It is the fifth renewal of this outstandingly organized event and the brilliant Frankie Dettori will once again be the big drawcard on a star-studded bill.

The Mauritians are absolutely fanatical about their horseracing and the island will come alive as the international stars come to town in the horseracing event of the year. Veteran South African rider Karl Neisius and his friend and colleague Glen Hatt, who endured an horrific fall on Saturday’s Sansui Summer Cup Day, will join Irishman Robbie Burke in the rather unflatteringly labeled ‘Former Champions Team.’

In an innovative move and a break from tradition, the Mauritius Turf Club has opted for a new concept this year. There will be four teams of three riders competing in fourteen races over the two days. Thus the Young / Rising Stars competition, which was introduced in 2002 has been abandoned.

The four competing teams will be represented by the Mauritian Team which will comprise Rye Joorawon, Jeannot Bardottier and South African-based Karis Teetan. The Eurostars Team will be represented by the Italian Lanfranco Dettori and the two French riders, namely Stephane Pasquier and Olivier Peslier.  Glen Hatt and Karl Neisius, and the Irish jockey Robbie Burke will defend the coulours of the Former Champions Team. The Indian rider Imran Chisty, the Australian rider Corey Brown and the Norwegian rider, William Buick will have the honour of representing the fourth team, appropriately called The Rest of the World.

In the spirit of fairness and to balance the competition, the Mauritius Turf Club has classified the participating horses in categories so as to give the four teams more or less equal chances.

World Champion. Swede Tina Henriksson will be crowned this weekend.

The first race of the Saturday meeting, The Jean Halbawachs Cup, will be an all-Mauritian affair, reserved for B category riders whereas the third race of the Sunday meeting, The T-Printing/Racetime 25th Anniversary-Fegentri Cup, the final leg of the Fegentri World Cup(a Ladies competition)  will see the crowning of the Swedish rider, Tina Henriksson,who is assured of the title with a lead of nearly 30 points over the German rider Berit Weber.

At a press conference held on Friday, the Management of the MTC announced the final specifics of the newly styled competition.This year, four teams of three riders each  will compete for the championship.

Team Mauritius : Rye Joorawon (Captain), Karis Teetan and Jeannot Bardottier.
Former Champions : Glen  Hatt ( Captain), Robbie Burke and Karl Neisius.
Eurostars : Lanfranco Dettori ( Captain), Stéphane Pasquier and Olivier Peslier.
Rest of the World : Imran Chisty ( Captain ), Corey Brown and William Buick.

In the course of the two days the four captains will  have 10 rides and the two other members of each  team will compete in 9 races. Nine points will be allocated to a winning ride ; four points for a second place, three points for a third place and one point for a fourth place. The team with the most points will be declared the overall champion. In the event of a Dead heat with the total points, the number of wins or second places will determine the winner of the championship.

See you in Mauritius this weekend!

Have Your Say - *Please Use Your Name & Surname

Comments Policy
The Sporting Post encourages readers to comment in the spirit of enlightening the topic being discussed, to add opinions or correct errors. All posts are accepted on the condition that the Sporting Post can at any time alter, correct or remove comments, either partially or entirely.

All posters are required to post under their actual name and surname – no anonymous posts or use of pseudonyms will be accepted. You can adjust your display name on your account page or to send corrections privately to the EditorThe Sporting Post will not publish comments submitted anonymously or under pseudonyms.

Please note that the views that are published are not necessarily those of the Sporting Post.

Notify of
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments



Popular Posts