Sussex Stake Highlights Glorious Goodwood

Tuesday 31 July to Saturday 4 August

With five days of thrilling action set against the magnificent backdrop of the rolling Sussex Downs countryside, the Qatar Goodwood Festival – popularly known as ‘Glorious Goodwood’ – is one of the highlights of the Flat racing season.

The Qatar Sussex Stakes, part of the QIPCO British Champions Series, is the highlight of the five-day Qatar Goodwood Festival, which runs from Tuesday, July 31 to Saturday, August 4, and one of the world’s leading mile races, with a tremendous roll of honour.

The John Gosden-trained Without Parole, owned and bred by John & Tanya Gunther,is the market leader for this year’s renewal as he looks to extend his unbeaten record to five. The son of dual Sussex Stakes winner Frankel (2011 & 2012), registered a half-length success on his latest outing in the G1 St James’s Palace Stakes over a mile at Royal Ascot on June 19.

Aidan O’Brien – five wins in Sussex Stakes


Britain and Ireland’s reigning champion Flat trainer Aidan O’Brien has won the Qatar Sussex Stakes five times, most recently with The Gurkha in 2016.

The master of Ballydoyle has seven horses still in contention for the G1 contest over a mile including Gustav Klimt, who was second to Without Parole at Royal Ascot, and G1 Al Shaqab Lockinge Stakes scorer Rhododendron.

Dual G1 winners Happily and Hydrangea are also still engaged, along with Deauville, Clemmie and Threeandfourpence.

Godolphin has won the G1 Qatar Sussex Stakes on three occasions courtesy of Aljabr (1999), Noverre (2001) and Ramonti (2007), will the trio all trained by Saeed bin Suroor. The Newmarket handler has Benbatl, winner of the G1 Dubai Turf at Meydan in March, going forward.

Godolphin’s famous blue silks could also be carried by Wootton (Henri-Alex Pantall FR), who ran fourth in the G1 Poule d’Essai des Poulains at Longchamp in May, before finishing third to Without Parole in the G1 St James’s Palace Stakes.

Sussex Stakes – Last 25:

Horse Age Owner Trainer
BEAT THE BANK 4 King Power Racing Co Ltd Andrew Balding
BENBATL 4 Godolphin Saeed bin Suroor
CLEMMIE (IRE) 3 Michael Tabor, Derrick Smith & Sue Magnier Aidan O’Brien IRE
DEAUVILLE (IRE) 5 Fitri Hay/Michael Tabor/Sue Magnier/Derrick Smith Aidan O’Brien IRE
EMARAATY 3 Hamdan Al Maktoum John Gosden
GABR 3 Hamdan Al Maktoum Sir Michael Stoute
GUSTAV KLIMT (IRE) 3 Sue Magnier, Michael Tabor & Derrick Smith Aidan O’Brien IRE
HAPPILY (IRE) 3 Derrick Smith, Sue Magnier, Michael Tabor Aidan O’Brien IRE
HERE COMES WHEN (IRE) 8 Fitri Hay Andrew Balding
HEY GAMAN 3 Sultan Ali James Tate
HYDRANGEA (IRE) 4 Derrick Smith, Sue Magnier, Michael Tabor Aidan O’Brien IRE
IMAGING 3 Khalid Abdullah Dermot Weld IRE
LIGHTNING SPEAR 7 Qatar Racing Limited David Simcock
LORD GLITTERS (FR) 5 Geoff & Sandra Turnbull David O’Meara
ORBAAN 3 Prince A A Faisal Andre Fabre FR
RHODODENDRON (IRE) 4 Sue Magnier, Michael Tabor & Derrick Smith Aidan O’Brien IRE
SO BELOVED 8 Thoroughbred British Racing David O’Meara
SOCIETY POWER (IRE) 3 Sheikh Rashid Dalmook Al Maktoum William Haggas
SUEDOIS (FR) 7 George Turner & Clipper Logistics David O’Meara
TEPPAL (FR) 3 HH Sheikh Mohammed Bin Khalifa Al Thani David Simcock
THREADING (IRE) 3 Sheikh Hamdan Bin Mohammed Al Maktoum Mark Johnston
THREEANDFOURPENCE (USA) 3 Evie Stockwell Aidan O’Brien IRE
WITHOUT PAROLE 3 John Gunther & Tanya Gunther John Gosden
WOOTTON (FR) 3 Godolphin SNC Henri-Alex Pantall FR


25 entries remain following July 10 scratchings deadline

8 Irish-trained

2 French-trained

Have Your Say - *Please Use Your Name & Surname

Comments Policy
The Sporting Post encourages readers to comment in the spirit of enlightening the topic being discussed, to add opinions or correct errors. All posts are accepted on the condition that the Sporting Post can at any time alter, correct or remove comments, either partially or entirely.

All posters are required to post under their actual name and surname – no anonymous posts or use of pseudonyms will be accepted. You can adjust your display name on your account page or to send corrections privately to the EditorThe Sporting Post will not publish comments submitted anonymously or under pseudonyms.

Please note that the views that are published are not necessarily those of the Sporting Post.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments



Popular Posts