Gwingwizha Wins The Challenge – Again!

R20 000 banked as talented rider shows the way

Joe Gwingwizha sealed his victory after Leg 3 of the Work Riders’ Challenge at Turffontein on Tuesday.

Gwingwizha, who was defending the title he won last year, went into the Leg 3 with a 27-point lead over Phenisile Mongqawa, who in turn was five points clear of Chamu Mabaya. And that is how they finished.

Joe Gwingwizha (left) and Phelisile Mongqawa (photo: JC Photos)

Top two! Joe Gwingwizha (left) seen with Phelisile Mongqawa (Pic – JC Photos)

That saw Gwingwizha claim the R20 000 winner’s cheque, Mongqawa earned R10 000 for second place. Mabaya banked R5 000 for finishing third and another R5 000 for accumulating the most points at this meeting.

Tuesday’s Work Riders’ Challenge was a less memorable one for Donovan Cooper.

The Stipendiary Board was of the opinion that the standard of riding displayed by him throughout the day was not of an acceptable level.

The Board recommended to James Maree that Cooper attend a refresher course at the Thoroughbred Development Trust, and that he be restricted to riding in races up the straight only.

Acting in terms of Rule 4.2.18, the Stipes removed Cooper from his remaining rides after the fifth race on the day and replacement Work Riders were found.

The high-riding Gwingwizha will captain the Highveld work riders who take on the jockeys .in the Highveld Work Riders & Jockeys Challenge race at  the Champions Day racemeeting programme at Turffontein on Saturday 1 May

The race will be a R150 000 Maiden Plate over 1160m and teams will comprise the top 8 riders on the respective Highveld logs for the current racing season as at 31 March 2021.

The work riders will receive a 3kg weight allowance from the professional jockeys.


  • Joe Gwingwizha (Captain)
  • Samuel Mosia
  • Phelisile Mongqawa
  • Chamynorowa Mabaya
  • Tshepiso Matsoele
  • Daniel Baase
  • Goodman Dadamasi
  • Phillip Mlangeni
  • (Reserve – Linyelo Mafethe)


  • S’manga Khumalo (Captain)
  • Lyle Hewitson
  • Gavin Lerena
  • Muzi Yeni
  • Craig Zackey
  • Warren Kennedy
  • Luke Ferraris
  • Piere Strydom
  • (Reserve – Chase Maujean)

Have Your Say - *Please Use Your Name & Surname

Comments Policy
The Sporting Post encourages readers to comment in the spirit of enlightening the topic being discussed, to add opinions or correct errors. All posts are accepted on the condition that the Sporting Post can at any time alter, correct or remove comments, either partially or entirely.

All posters are required to post under their actual name and surname – no anonymous posts or use of pseudonyms will be accepted. You can adjust your display name on your account page or to send corrections privately to the EditorThe Sporting Post will not publish comments submitted anonymously or under pseudonyms.

Please note that the views that are published are not necessarily those of the Sporting Post.

Notify of
1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments



Popular Posts