Highveld Feature Awards

Highveld Feature Season Awards: The Nominees


Unbeaten Majmu looks invincible

The 2014 Highveld Feature Season Awards will be held in the Aquanaut Room, Turffontein Racecourse on Wednesday 28 May.  The event is hosted by the Racing Association in conjunction with Phumelela Gaming and Leisure Limited.

The nominees for the 2014 Highveld Feature Season Awards are:

 Champion two year old filly

Carry on Alice; Majmu (Aus)

Champion two year old colt/gelding

Banaadeer (Aus); Isphan

Champion three year old filly

Along Came Polly; Athina; Arcetri Pink (Aus); Ash Cloud; Close the Gap

Champion three year old colt/gelding

Only one nominee – will be announced at the Awards function

PE star Copper Parade

PE star Copper Parade

Champion older horse

Copper Parade; Royal Zulu Warrior; Yorker

Champion sprinter

Copper Parade; Happy Forever; Here Comes Billy; Jade Bay;

Champion Middle distance horse

Louis the King; Yorker

Champion Stayer

Ash Cloud; Louis the King; Magic Smoke; Seal

Champion sand specialist

Here Comes Billy; In a Rush; Jackodore; Uncle Tommy; Tommy Gun

Winners in the following categories will be announced at the Awards function

Champion Work Rider

Champion Apprentice

Champion breeder of the season

Champion owner of the season

Champion jockey of the season

Champion trainer of the season

Horse of the season

RA CEO Larry Wainstein is hosting the awards

RA CEO Larry Wainstein is hosting the awards

The voting panel consisted of Clyde Basel, Alistair Cohen, Patrick Davis, Jason Dedekind, and Germaine Maharaj and while some categories were fairly predictable, others attracted heated debate.  The Chairman of the voting panel Vee Moodley, Phumelela Gaming and Leisure’s Executive Director, Sports Betting, kept matters under control to ensure a fair process.

The following points structure was applied:

1st                     2nd                    3rd

Grade 1                                  12                     9                      7

Grade 2                                    9                     6                      4

Grade 3                                    6                     3                      1

Listed                                       2                     –                       –

The Chief Executive of the Racing Association, Larry Wainstein, will be awarding certificates to a number of RA members and other deserving supporters of our industry in recognition of their contribution to our sport.











Have Your Say - *Please Use Your Name & Surname

Comments Policy
The Sporting Post encourages readers to comment in the spirit of enlightening the topic being discussed, to add opinions or correct errors. All posts are accepted on the condition that the Sporting Post can at any time alter, correct or remove comments, either partially or entirely.

All posters are required to post under their actual name and surname – no anonymous posts or use of pseudonyms will be accepted. You can adjust your display name on your account page or to send corrections privately to the EditorThe Sporting Post will not publish comments submitted anonymously or under pseudonyms.

Please note that the views that are published are not necessarily those of the Sporting Post.

Notify of
1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments



Popular Posts

From Chaos To Reform

Charl Pretorius writes in his Off The Record column on the 4Racing website that owners, trainers and racing fans are gravely concerned about the state of our industry

Read More »