Hollywoodbets Durban July – Class Of ’24 Takes Shape

Save the date - 6 July 2024

A nationally representative first entry of 58 of South Africa’s best have commenced the long road to Hollywoodbets Durban July glory on Saturday 6 July at Hollywoodbets Greyville.

The first entries for the 128th renewal of the R5 million Grade 1 Hollywoodbets Durban July were unveiled by Gold Circle today as the 73 day countdown to South Africa’s greatest horseracing event commences in earnest.

Winchester Mansion – defence of the Hollywoodbets Durban July  title? (Pic – Chase Liebenberg)

The number of entries compare favourably in quantum with recent years, when 60 were received in 2023, 68 in 2022, 53 in 2021, 52 in 2020, 49 in 2019, and 69 in 2018.

And in terms of class and depth, 2024 promises a vintage renewal with all of the big-hitters having thrown their hats into the ring in a quest for glory in a race that every owner, trainer, jockey and breeder wants to win.

There are five past winning trainers – Mike de Kock, Brett Crawford, Dean Kannemeyer, Justin Snaith, Sean Tarry and Alec Laird – with representation, and only Candice Bass-Robinson, Michelle Rix and Glen Kotzen, of the 21st century still active local conditioners, are not represented at this stage of the game.

As has been the norm for some years, Sean Tarry (10), Justin Snaith (8) and Mike de Kock (7) hold the aces in pure power of numbers.

Ten fillies and mares are included in the 58 entries, with 21st century fairer sex flagbearers including Sparkling Water (2022), Igugu (2011), Dancer’s Daughter (2008) and Ipi Tombe (2002).

Last year’s top two finishers, Winchester Mansion and See It Again, are back.

The beginnings of the class of ’24:

SEE IT AGAIN (4C) 132 Michael Roberts
MAIN DEFENDER (3G) 131 Tony Peter
DAVE THE KING (4G) 126 Mike de Kock
GIMME A NOTHER (3F) 125 Mike de Kock
ROYAL VICTORY (4G) 125 Nathan Kotzen
ROYAL AUSSIE (4G) 124 Justin Snaith
WINCHESTER MANSION (5G) 124 Brett Crawford
COUSIN CASEY (4C) 123 Sean Tarry
PURPLE PITCHER (3C) 120 Robyn Klaasen
WITHOUT QUESTION (4G) 120 Justin Snaith
GREEN WITH ENVY (3C) 119 Dean Kannemeyer
LUCKY LAD (3C) 119 Sean Tarry
SON OF RAJ (4G) 119 Tony Peter
ARAGOSTA (5G) 118 Mike de Kock
FRANCES ETHEL (3F) 118 Brett Crawford
WILLIAM IRON ARM (3C) 117 Tony Peter
FUTURE PEARL (4G) 116 Sean Tarry
MONTIEN (4G) 116 Piet Botha
PURE PREDATOR (3G) 116 Fanie Bronkhorst
SILVER SANCTUARY (3F) 116 Mike de Kock
MONDIAL (3G) 115 M G Azzie/A A Azzie
MY SOUL MATE (3F) 115 Candice Dawson
SAFE PASSAGE (5G) 115 Mike de Kock
HOTARUBI (3G) 114 Sean Tarry
LET’S GO NOW (3F) 114 Sean Tarry
MID WINTER WIND (3G) 114 Sean Tarry
MASTER REDOUTE (5G) 113 Andre Nel
ORIENTAL CHARM (3C) 113 Brett Crawford
TRIPLE TIME (4G) 112 Justin Snaith
ATTICUS FINCH (4G) 111 Alec Laird
HLUHLUWE (3G) 111 Justin Snaith
NEBRAAS (7G) 111 Sean Tarry
MUCHO DINERO (4G) 110 Justin Snaith
SAARTJIE (4F) 110 Andre Nel
SHOEMAKER (4G) 110 Mike de Kock
BARBARESCO (3G) 109 J A Janse van Vuuren
SECOND BASE (6G) 107 Robyn Klaasen
FORMAGEAR (4G) 106 Peter Muscutt
CAPE EAGLE (6G) 105 Andre Nel
IMILENZEYOKUDUDUMA (5G) 105 Gareth van Zyl
PERFECT WITNESS (5M) 105 Candice Dawson
FUTURE SWING (4G) 103 Justin Snaith
NAVAJO NATION (3G) 103 Robbie Hill
PONTE PIETRA (4G) 103 Dean Kannemeyer
RIVER ROMEO (4G) 101 Lorenzo Karriem
NARINA TROGON (4G) 100 Michael Miller
PYROMANIAC (5G) 100 Sean Tarry
BARATHEON (5G) 98 Piet Botha
GET IMPRESSED (3G) 96 Justin Snaith
MARAUDING HORDE (3C) 96 Mike de Kock
THE GREY KING (3G) 96 Justin Snaith
CELTIC BEAUTY (3F) 94 Tony Rivalland
POMODORO’S JET (5G) 93 Brett Crawford
ANCIENT WORLD (3G) 92 Michael Miller
CELESTIAL CITY (5H) 92 Sean Tarry
JORDAN (3G) 91 Sean Tarry
INDIAN OCEAN (4F) 90 Lorenzo Karriem
DANSE MILORD (5M) 89 M J Odendaal


Hollywoodbets Durban July timeline:.

  • First declarations close at 11h00 on Monday 13 May.
  • First supplementary entries close at 11h00 on Tuesday 14 May.
  • Second declarations close at 11h00 on Monday 3 June.
  • Final supplementary entries close at 11h00 on Tuesday 18 June.
  • Weights will be published on Tuesday 18 June.
  • Final declarations close at 11h00 on Monday 24 June.
  • Final Field and Draw – announcement of the Final Field and Barrier Draws will be on Tuesday 25 June.

Only 20 horses will be carded – 18 + 2 Reserves. The reserves will be scratched by 08h15 on Friday 5 July.

Elimination will be at the sole and unfettered discretion of Gold Circle.

Have Your Say - *Please Use Your Name & Surname

Comments Policy
The Sporting Post encourages readers to comment in the spirit of enlightening the topic being discussed, to add opinions or correct errors. All posts are accepted on the condition that the Sporting Post can at any time alter, correct or remove comments, either partially or entirely.

All posters are required to post under their actual name and surname – no anonymous posts or use of pseudonyms will be accepted. You can adjust your display name on your account page or to send corrections privately to the EditorThe Sporting Post will not publish comments submitted anonymously or under pseudonyms.

Please note that the views that are published are not necessarily those of the Sporting Post.

Notify of
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments



Popular Posts

From Chaos To Reform

Charl Pretorius writes in his Off The Record column on the 4Racing website that owners, trainers and racing fans are gravely concerned about the state of our industry

Read More »