Hollywoodbets Scottsville Speed Raceday Entries In

Saturday 1 June 2024

Sean Tarry won three of the four Grade 1 trophies on the 2023 Golden Horse raceday, and the former multiple SA Champion looks set for a potentially rewarding 2024 renewal of South Africa’s premier speed clash.

Despite the premature retirement to the Ridgemont stallion barn of his champion sprinter Thunderstruck this week, and the emigration of SA Horse Of The Year Princess Calla in March, Tarry has eleven entries over the four Grade 1’s, including last year’s Gold Medallion winner Lucky Lad and the Allan Robertson Championship title-holder, Mrs Geriatrix.

Lucky Lad – won the Gold Medallion last year (Pic – Chase Liebenberg)

A total of 74 first entries were received this past Monday for the Gr1 speed jackpot at Hollywoodbets Scottsville on 1 June, and supplementary entries closed at 11h00 today, with final fields due on Monday.

A notable absent star achiever is Milnerton trainer Vaughan Marshall, who told the Sporting Post that he had made a decision not to travel to the East Coast for the Champions Season.

Questioned on the plans for his dual Gr3 Nursery winner One Stripe, the veteran said that he intended to follow the same programme that he did with the outstanding youngster’s illustrious Dad, One World, in 2018.

The 2020 Met winner was unbeaten in his first five starts, including victories in the Listed Langerman and the Gr2 Concorde Cup (now the Cape Punters Cup), before going down third to Soqrat in the 2018 Cape Guineas.

One Stripe, whom his trainer said put up the best work he had ever seen in a Ready To Run gallop, was knocked for R1,4 million at the Cape Racing Ready To Run Sale late last year.

He is out of the Silvano mare One Stripe, with a recent Winter Derby winner in the family.

While Vaughan is on record saying that One Stripe doesn’t really remind him of his sire, he’d be happy if he was ‘half as good’, and expects him to be a miler in time. That can only mean long -term Hollywoodbets Cape Guineas plans- exciting times for successful owner, Rikesh Sewgoolam.

The first entries for 1 June:

R1 000 000 1200m (Turf / Stand)
12 At My Command Brett Crawford 119
19 Cliff Top Peter Muscutt 108
13 Countdown Glen Kotzen 108
14 Cruise Control Duncan Howells 117
11 Dyce Lucky Houdalakis 130
16 Fire ‘N Flames Kobus Roux 98
9 Hithemhardsunshine Alyson Wright 108
1 I Am Giant Brett Crawford 107
18 King Of The Gauls Tony Rivalland 101
15 Lucky Lad Sean Tarry 121
22 Melech Roy Magner 117
7 Mrs Browning Sean Tarry 113
2 Mrs Geriatrix Sean Tarry 112
20 Pray For Rain Carl Hewitson 114
10 Quasiforsure Peter Muscutt 115
5 Sheldon J A Janse van Vuuren 116
17 Sun Blushed Michael Roberts 113
6 Surjay Brett Crawford 119
3 Swing Upon A Star Tony Peter 104
4 Teflon Man Dean Kannemeyer 99
21 Zinovi Mike de Kock 114
8 Ziyasha Clinton Binda 116
R1 000 000 1200m (Turf / Stand)
17 Asiye Phambili Duncan Howells 111
3 Baltic Secret Justin Snaith 104
12 Convocation Gareth van Zyl 97
20 Elegant Ice Lucky Houdalakis 102
18 Gimme A Shot M G Azzie/A A Azzie 106
4 Hot Pearl Wendy Whitehead 97
1 Kwinta’s Light Justin Snaith 110
6 Morgan La Fay Wendy Whitehead 98
7 Mrs Browning Sean Tarry 113
15 Mrs Geriatrix Sean Tarry 112
5 October Morn Candice Bass-Robinson 115
14 One Fell Swoop Tony Peter 104
2 Reefway Kumaran Naidoo 98
9 Shantastic Dean Kannemeyer 108
11 Shipholia Gareth van Zyl 96
10 Sorceress Supreme HWJ Crawford/M Rix 0
13 Time Fo Orchids J A Janse van Vuuren 110
8 White Pearl Mike de Kock 112
19 Winter Cloud Candice Bass-Robinson 114
16 Winter Greeting Sean Tarry 108
R1 000 000 1200m (Turf / Stand)
15 Banff Sean Tarry 0
3 Believe In Fate Joe Soma 0
1 Chinaberry Wendy Whitehead 0
7 Cold Shine Peter Muscutt 0
4 Commanding Glen Kotzen 0
17 Cosmic Speed Sean Tarry 0
5 Cymric J A Janse van Vuuren 0
14 Gorgeous Klein Tony Peter 0
9 One More Lucky Houdalakis 0
2 Pistol Pete Tony Peter 0
11 Proceed Sean Tarry 0
8 Sorceress Supreme HWJ Crawford/M Rix 0
13 Taxi To The Moon Tony Peter 0
0 Truth Candice Dawson 112
6 Twenty One May Duncan Howells 0
12 United Nation Glen Kotzen 0
10 Wild At War Candice Dawson 0
16 Winds Of Change M G Azzie/A A Azzie 0
R1 000 000 1200m (Turf / Stand)
9 Dark Winter Justin Snaith 0
6 Disting Glen Kotzen 0
3 Fiery Pegasus Joe Soma 0
14 Frozen Fantasy Robyn Klaasen 0
5 Gimmefabulous M G Azzie/A A Azzie 0
4 Gimmie’s Countess Dean Kannemeyer 0
2 Green Sapphire Sean Tarry 0
8 Just Reckless Michael Miller 0
0 Kindred Heart Brett Crawford 91
11 Little Ballerina Candice Dawson 0
13 Lost For Words HWJ Crawford/M Rix 0
15 Prom Queen Dean Kannemeyer 0
1 Quid Pro Quo Barend Botes 0
12 Rodeo Drive Sean Tarry 0
7 Sorceress Supreme HWJ Crawford/M Rix 0
10 Symphony In White Candice Bass-Robinson 0

Have Your Say - *Please Use Your Name & Surname

Comments Policy
The Sporting Post encourages readers to comment in the spirit of enlightening the topic being discussed, to add opinions or correct errors. All posts are accepted on the condition that the Sporting Post can at any time alter, correct or remove comments, either partially or entirely.

All posters are required to post under their actual name and surname – no anonymous posts or use of pseudonyms will be accepted. You can adjust your display name on your account page or to send corrections privately to the EditorThe Sporting Post will not publish comments submitted anonymously or under pseudonyms.

Please note that the views that are published are not necessarily those of the Sporting Post.

Notify of
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments



Popular Posts