If You Couldn’t Win, You Surely Can’t Lose?

It's an old gambling maxim...

The disqualification of the favourite in the third race at Turffontein last Saturday raises an interesting point.

Read more here for the background to the reader’s letter

Stewart Ramsay writes in the Sporting Post Mailbag that if a horse is disqualified then it cannot win/or place.

If it cannot earn a finishing place in a race then surely it is a non runner.

Those that backed cannot win.

If they cannot win, then surely they can’t lose.

The tote rules state that if you back a horse for a place and it finishes in the first three you will be paid a dividend – those are the terms of agreement of the transaction.

If a horse is disqualified and its chances of honouring that agreement of returning you a dividend are removed — then surely the terms and condition under which you entered that agreement are null and void?

Have Your Say - *Please Use Your Name & Surname

Comments Policy
The Sporting Post encourages readers to comment in the spirit of enlightening the topic being discussed, to add opinions or correct errors. All posts are accepted on the condition that the Sporting Post can at any time alter, correct or remove comments, either partially or entirely.

All posters are required to post under their actual name and surname – no anonymous posts or use of pseudonyms will be accepted. You can adjust your display name on your account page or to send corrections privately to the EditorThe Sporting Post will not publish comments submitted anonymously or under pseudonyms.

Please note that the views that are published are not necessarily those of the Sporting Post.

Notify of
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments



Popular Posts