Kotzen & Smith Hold Power Hands In ‘Gqeberha July’

Runs at 15h50 at Fairview on Friday

The Gqeberha trainers will have another crack at bringing the Tab4Racing Algoa Cup silverware back home on Friday.

It’s a race that the Western Cape raiders have dominated in recent years.

Cape raider Hoedspruit wins the Algoa Cup in the hands of Richard Fourie in 2021 (Pic – Pauline Herman)

Paarl powerhouse Glen Kotzen has a quartet of runners in the race known as the ‘Gqeberha July’, and together with local champion Gavin Smith (5), will saddle nine of the sixteen runners that will line up at the 2000m at 15h50 on Friday.

Candice Bass-Robinson and Justin Snaith will travel up from the Cape with a runner each. Snaith’s 2021 winner Hoedspruit is currently being prepped for the Gr1 Gauteng Summer Cup on 26 November.

Jacques Strydom is the last Eastern Cape trainer to have won the Algoa Cup, and that was back in 2009 with Surfin’ USA.

“It was a photo finish, a real nailbiter, and a good thing that my brother owed me a favour,” Jacques said, referring to champion Pieré Strydom that gave his all in the saddle to secure the victory. They also had to survive an objection!

The recent winners of the Algoa Cup:

  • 2021: Hoedspruit
  • 2020:Silver De Lange
  • 2019: Cat Daddy
  • 2018: Magnificent Seven
  • 2017: Nebula
  • 2016: Nebula
  • 2015: Stonehenge
  • 2014: Disco Al
  • 2013: Disco Al
  • 2012: Hill Fifty Four
  • 2011: Forest Of Dean
  • 2010: Hawk’s Eye
  • 2009: Surfin’ USA
Friday’s field:
R350 000 2000m 15:50 Ref-137
1st R218750, 2nd R70000, 3rd R35000, 4th R17500, 5th R8750
WFA: 3yrs-9kgs 4yrs-1kgs
No Apprentice Allowance
1 1 Mount Anderson 61 110 BA Marco V’Rensburg Kelly Mitchley
2 14 Grazinginthegrass 60 108 T A Richard Fourie Alan Greeff
3 10 Crimson King 58 104 A Sandile Khathi Glen Kotzen
4 2 Jaeger Moon 57 102 A Keagan de Melo Gavin Smith
5 12 Chollima 56 102 A Gavin Lerena Glen Kotzen
6 15 Find Me Unafraid 56 100 TKA Luyolo Mxothwa Gavin Smith
7 7 Never Ending Rain 55.5 101 T A S’manga Khumalo Gavin Smith
8 8 Follow The Star 55.5 99 BA Kabelo Matsunyane Glen Kotzen
9 5 Master Redoute 54.5 99 BA Grant van Niekerk Andre Nel
10 9 Han Solo 54 96 A Calvin Habib Glen Kotzen
11 13 Peace In Our World 53.5 97 A Juan Paul v’d Merwe Gavin Smith
12 4 Ancient Times 53.5 95 T A Mpumelelo Mjoka Gavin Smith
13 11 Arctic Drift 52 92 A Gareth Wright Candice Bass-Robinson
14 3 Thefutureisbright 52 92 A Muzi Yeni Justin Snaith
15 6 Jacob’s Ladder 52 86 TBA Ryan Munger Zietsman Oosthuizen
Same Trainer
(3,5,8,10) (4,6,7,11,12)

Have Your Say - *Please Use Your Name & Surname

Comments Policy
The Sporting Post encourages readers to comment in the spirit of enlightening the topic being discussed, to add opinions or correct errors. All posts are accepted on the condition that the Sporting Post can at any time alter, correct or remove comments, either partially or entirely.

All posters are required to post under their actual name and surname – no anonymous posts or use of pseudonyms will be accepted. You can adjust your display name on your account page or to send corrections privately to the EditorThe Sporting Post will not publish comments submitted anonymously or under pseudonyms.

Please note that the views that are published are not necessarily those of the Sporting Post.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments



Popular Posts