KZN Breeders Honour Their Stars

Capetown Noir is stallion of the year

The KZN Breeders Awards for 2022 were held at a festive function at the regular venue of the Nottingham Road Hotel on Saturday evening.

Times are tough across the country, but a passionate spirit prevailed and the party went on until late.

Stalwarts Mick and Cheryl Goss’s Summerhill Stud continue to perform in the top echelons and their products dominated a number of categories, including the Breeders Achievement Award.

Hollywoodbets’ Venal Naidu with multiple award winners Cheryl and Mick Goss (Pic – Candiese Lenferna)

The winners included a standout category for Bloomhill Stud broodmare Wysiwyg, who is the dam of both Gr1 male sprint nominees, Bohica and Bartholdi.

Western Winter stallion Capetown Noir enjoyed a sterling year with both Under Your Spell and Bohica capturing Gr1 wins in the year.

Lee Scribate – Lifetime Membersip Award (Pic – Candiese Lenferna)

In the ‘human’ categories, Piemonte Stud’s Lee Scribante, a former Chairman of KZN Breeders and a man who has moved to Knysna and called it a day, was honoured with a Lifetime Acheivement Award, while popular Gallop TV Presenter Warren Lenferna was knocked off his feet in a rare moment of speechlessness when awarded the Anita Akal Trophy.

Lenferna, who is a tireless voice and supporter of the KZN Breeders, is often seen giving of his free time and the award was popularly received.

Warren Lenferna – recipient of the Anita Akal Award (Pic – Candiese Lenferna)

Each category winner is followed by the breeder’s name:

Champion 2YO – sponsored by The Equine Group      

  • Gimme A Shot   K Soal

Champion 3YO – sponsored by Equifeeds      

  • Under Your Spell              Summerhill Stud

Champion Older Male – sponsored by Epol Horse Feeds        

  • Mk’s Pride           Summerhill Stud

Champion Older Female – sponsored by Gold Circle      

  • Winter Smoke   RT Fitzgerald

Champion Sprinter Male – sponsored by Choice Carriers   

  • Bohica   Summerhill Stud

Champion Sprinter Female – sponsored by Odds On Colours         

  • Winter Smoke   RT Fitzgerald

Champion Middle Distance Male – sponsored by Blue Sky Thoroughbreds   

  • Mk’s Pride           Summerhill Stud

Champion Middle Distance Female – sponsored by Hollywoodbets  

Under Your Spell              Summerhill Stud

Broodmare Of The Year – sponsored by Gold Circle          

  • Wysiwyg

Stallion Of The Year – sponsored by TBA 

  • Capetown Noir

Breeders Achievement – sponsored by Almary Veterinary Practice

  • Summerhill Stud

Lifetime Membership Award 

  • Lee Scribante

Anita Akal Award     

  • Warren Lenferna

Horse Of The Year – sponsored by Gold Circle  

  • MK’s Pride

Have Your Say - *Please Use Your Name & Surname

Comments Policy
The Sporting Post encourages readers to comment in the spirit of enlightening the topic being discussed, to add opinions or correct errors. All posts are accepted on the condition that the Sporting Post can at any time alter, correct or remove comments, either partially or entirely.

All posters are required to post under their actual name and surname – no anonymous posts or use of pseudonyms will be accepted. You can adjust your display name on your account page or to send corrections privately to the EditorThe Sporting Post will not publish comments submitted anonymously or under pseudonyms.

Please note that the views that are published are not necessarily those of the Sporting Post.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments



Popular Posts