Big Winners For RA Feature Awards

The 2013 RA Feature Season Awards is scheduled to take place on Saturday 18 May

cherry on the top - Gr3 Fillies Mile - hamish - turffontein 2012-12-01_6

Mystery unnamed combination? Cherry On The Top and Nooresh Juglall could be the anonymous nominees!

The 2013 RA Feature Season Awards will take place on Saturday evening, 18 May in the Aquanaut Room at Turffontein Racecourse.  The event will be hosted by the Racing Association and co-sponsored by Phumelela Gaming and Leisure Limited.

The format for this event is taking on a slightly new look and in addition to the human and equine champions of the turf being honoured as they have in past years, the Racing Association has included special awards to recognise a variety of achievers within the industry.

The categories and nominees for the RA Feature season awards are as follows:

Champion Two Year Old Filly

Arcetri Pink;  For the Lads;  Virgo’s Babe

Champion Two Year Old Colt/Gelding

Jimmi Choo;   Olympic Owen;    Willow Magic

Champion Three Year Old Filly

Only one nominee – to be announced on the evening


Derby winner Wylie Hall

Derby winner Wylie Hall

Champion Three Year Old Colt/Gelding

Love Struck;  Tellina;    The Hangman;   Wylie Hall

 Champion Older Horse

Heavy Metal;  Slumdogmillionaire;  Thunder Dance;  Wagner ;  What a Winter

Champion Sprinter

Sharp DesignWhat a Winter

 Champion Middle Distance Horse

Heavy Metal;  Slumdogmillionaire;  Thunder Dance;  Wagner

Champion Stayer

Canterbury Tale ;  Masai Warrior;  Seal;  Wylie Hall

 Champion Sand Specialist

Across the Ice;  Meadow Magic;  Pylon;  The Mouseketeer

 Champion Apprentice of the Season

To be announced on the evening

 Champion Breeder of the Season

Highlands Stud Farm;  Mauritzfontein Stud

Sean Tarry. Challenging the old master De Kock!

Sean Tarry. Challenging the old master De Kock!

Champion Owner of the Season

Mrs I and Mr M J Jooste;  Mrs B D Oppenheimer;  Mr C J H van Niekerk

Champion Jockey of the Season

Robbie Fradd;  Anton Marcus;  Piere Strydom

Champion Trainer of the Season

Mike de Kock;  Ormond A Ferraris;  Sean Tarry

Horse of the Season

To be announced on the evening

For further information, please contact Larry Wainstein at 011 683-3220 during office hours.











Have Your Say - *Please Use Your Name & Surname

Comments Policy
The Sporting Post encourages readers to comment in the spirit of enlightening the topic being discussed, to add opinions or correct errors. All posts are accepted on the condition that the Sporting Post can at any time alter, correct or remove comments, either partially or entirely.

All posters are required to post under their actual name and surname – no anonymous posts or use of pseudonyms will be accepted. You can adjust your display name on your account page or to send corrections privately to the EditorThe Sporting Post will not publish comments submitted anonymously or under pseudonyms.

Please note that the views that are published are not necessarily those of the Sporting Post.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments



Popular Posts

From Chaos To Reform

Charl Pretorius writes in his Off The Record column on the 4Racing website that owners, trainers and racing fans are gravely concerned about the state of our industry

Read More »