The Gold Miners!

De Kock and Kannemeyer dig deep

eLan Gold Cup_520

Trainers Mike de Kock and Dean Kannemeyer will between them field eight of the 16 runners in the R1.25-million, Grade 2 eLan Gold Cup over 3 200m at Greyville Racecourse on Super Saturday with the surprise being that leading jockey Anton Marcus does not feature among the riders in the race.

However, Weiho Marwing and Devin Little have not declared riders for Stebbins and Fortune Fella respectively which leaves an opening for Marcus if he is inclined.


Enaad wins the Gold Vase

De Kock will go into the famous race with a very strong hand having the “team” that filled the first four places in the SABC Gold Vase – Enaad, Smart Mart, Kingston Mines and Kinaan – flying the stable flag along with The Centenary that ran second behind Punta Arenas in the Delta Air Lines 2200.

Kannemeyer will mount his challenge with the Ideal World gelding Cape Speed that has won his last three races including the Track & Ball Derby at Scottsville with Lonsdale Stirrup Cup winner Balance Sheet and the Kahal gelding Solar Star that finished second in the Highland Night Cup as his support team.

Cape Speed

Cape Speed – heads Kannemeyer attack

Mike Bass, who retires at the meeting, has Helderberg Blue flying his stable flag with Three Balloons as the first reserve while Joey Ramsden, still on a high after his victories in the Vodacom Durban July and the Mercury Sprint, has engaged Brandon Lerena to partner his gutsy six-year-old stayer Coltrane. Geoff Woodruff makes his bid with the son of Jet Master, Master Sabina that he has always rated as a top horse and won the Summer Cup at Turffontein late last year.

A possible dark horse in the race is the Danehill Dancer gelding from the Justin Snaith yard, Ovidio, that caused an upset when winning the J&B Stayers over 2 800m at the beginning of the year.

Final Field

R1 250 000 – 3200m
eLAN GOLD CUP (Grade 2)

1 2 Master Sabina 60 107 T A G Lerena Geoff Woodruff
2 4 Helderberg Blue 59.5 105 A G van Niekerk Mike Bass
3 7 Ovidio (AUS) 59.5 105 A P Strydom Justin Snaith
4 12 Coltrane (ARG) 58.5 102 BA B Lerena Joey Ramsden
5 17 Kingston Mines (GB) 58.5 102 BA D Dillon Mike de Kock
6 3 Balance Sheet 57.5 101 BA K de Melo Dean Kannemeyer
7 9 The Centenary (NZ) 57 99 A W Marwing Mike de Kock
8 14 Arch Rival 56.5 97 BA R Danielson Geoff Woodruff
9 1 Solar Star 56.5 96 A S Randolph Dean Kannemeyer
10 8 Cape Speed 55.5 100 A A Delpech Dean Kannemeyer
11 5 Stebbins 54.5 98 TBA *L Hewitson Weiho Marwing
12 18 Fortune Fella 54 90 T A C Zackey Devin Little
13 13 Enaad (AUS) 53.5 89 A S Khumalo Mike de Kock
14 6 Zafira 53 93 A *C Murray Weiho Marwing
15 15 Kinaan (AUS) 53 84 A D David Mike de Kock
16 10 Smart Mart 53 83 BA M Yeni Mike de Kock
17 16 Three Balloons 53 85 BA Reserve 1 Mike Bass
18 11 Storm Warning 56.5 96 A Reserve 2 Johan Janse van Vuuren
Same Trainer – Not Coupled on Tote
(1,8) (2,17) (5,7,13,15,16) (6,9,10) (11,14)

Have Your Say - *Please Use Your Name & Surname

Comments Policy
The Sporting Post encourages readers to comment in the spirit of enlightening the topic being discussed, to add opinions or correct errors. All posts are accepted on the condition that the Sporting Post can at any time alter, correct or remove comments, either partially or entirely.

All posters are required to post under their actual name and surname – no anonymous posts or use of pseudonyms will be accepted. You can adjust your display name on your account page or to send corrections privately to the EditorThe Sporting Post will not publish comments submitted anonymously or under pseudonyms.

Please note that the views that are published are not necessarily those of the Sporting Post.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments



Popular Posts